PDA

View Full Version : Moving to Cali, need some advice please

Velocity
07-26-2010, 5:01 PM
Hello all, Newbie here at Calguns (very active on other forums), moving to Cali from Florida very soon... very experienced, very well trained, Florida CCW holder, responsible adult, etc. I own several guns and carry concealed every day here in Florida (H&K P30, Custom S&W 3913, Ruger LCP, S&W 442, Para Ordnance Carry 9).

Need some advice, and thank you in advance...

1. Can I bring my guns with me when I move? Is there paperwork to do?

2. Can I bring a shotgun with me?

3. Can I bring ammo with me? Is there a limit?

4. I heard my Ruger LCP is on the no-no list, is this an issue for me bringing it into Cali?

5. My H&K P30 has 15 rnd mags, and I am already ordering 10 rnd mags to replace them, I believe that's OK...

In other words, what can I do and what can't I do in terms of bringing my guns and ammo with me. If it matters, I am moving to Orange County.

I appreciate any and all sage advice I can get, and look forward to becoming an active and contributing member of this community.

Thanks,

Martin

Cyc Wid It
07-26-2010, 5:06 PM
Yes, bring your guns. http://www.ag.ca.gov/firearms/ab991.php
Yes, unless it's got features prohibited by the flow chart (found at the top of every page).
Shouldn't be a problem if it's regular ammo.
You can bring off-list guns into California (one of the ways they make their way here). The roster only applies to new purchases made from California that are not PPTs. People will probably encourage you to "buy more new guns to try that you can conveniently sell for a markup if you happen to not like them."
That's fine, and you can disassemble the 15 round ones and keep them for use outside of CA or sell them disassembled.

I don't think I messed anything up, if I did I'm sure someone will straighten it out.

stitchnicklas
07-26-2010, 5:08 PM