PDA

View Full Version : Importing guns- CA Law question

Matt C
04-21-2006, 6:42 PM
Can I buy a CA legal gun while at a gunshow in AZ, then bring it back with me and register it here?

Can I even buy a gun in AZ now that I am a CA resident?

Thx.

bwiese
04-21-2006, 6:46 PM
If you are a CA resident, just about all gun purchases (certain C&R exceptions) must run thru a CA FFL dealer.

Because of interplay of Fed law vs CA law, it is illegal as a CA resident for you to even acquire the gun in another state, whether or not you brought it into CA. So don't do any "paper-free parking lot transfers" in NV or AZ, you're violating Federal law.

Sorry to dash your hopes.

grammaton76
04-21-2006, 6:47 PM
Can I buy a CA legal gun while at a gunshow in AZ, then bring it back with me and register it here?

Can I even buy a gun in AZ now that I am a CA resident?

Generally, no.

1. If you have a C&R license, you can buy guns made 50 or more years ago, in Arizona.

2. If you haven't surrendered your AZ residency, then you can still buy guns as an Arizona resident and (in the case of handguns) just pay the import fee when bringing them to your California residence.

3. If neither of these apply, you can look and drool, but the only thing you can do is give the guy your money and have him ship the gun to California to go through a transfer dealer in CA.

Matt C
04-21-2006, 6:56 PM
Yeah, that's what I thought but I wanted to confirm it. I applied for a C&R but it's not here yet. Thanks for the info.

EOD Guy
04-22-2006, 5:00 AM
Generally, no.

1. If you have a C&R license, you can buy guns made 50 or more years ago, in Arizona.

No, you can buy any C&R firearm and bring it back, except for "assault weapons.". It doesn't have to be 50 years old. Handguns have to be registered within 5 days of entry into the state.

Matt C
04-23-2006, 3:24 AM
It is my understanding CA only recognises guns more than 50 years old as C&R.

Mssr. Eleganté
04-23-2006, 3:52 AM