PDA

View Full Version : one of five thousand

nelson109
07-25-2010, 1:29 PM
i have a browning classic, one of five thousand, 9mm. stainless steel, engraved by Ph. OZIEWA. its got a gold plated trigger, and its in a wooden case, with the origional 13 round magazine. i dont know much about it, but its been sitting in my closet for 11 years, and its time to get rid of it. it was a gift when i graduated the sheriffs academy.

can anyone give me any info on this gun? maybe an idea of what its worth. ive seen two for sale. one for $2400 and one for $3300. im not looking to get top dollar for it, i just want to be able to list it at a good price to get rid of it. if its worth 2 grand ill ask 1500. there has got to be a collector out there that would like to have it. i just have no use for it.

any help would be greatly appreciated. thanks, nelson.

BenjaminCA
07-25-2010, 2:08 PM
If at all possible please post some pictures of the gun, I can't help you much with the price but I would love to see it.

nelson109
07-25-2010, 2:27 PM
its a nice looking gun, with some great engraving. cant find much info on it. the serial codes look normal, but the date codes are not like anything ive found. they are 245bc1792. it looks like its stainless steel, but a magnet will stick lightly. i understand some higher strenght ss is magnetic, so maybe thats the case. it says made in belgium by fabrique nationale herstal on one side of the slide, on the other it says browning arms company morgan, utah & montreal p.q. has an engraved picture of browning, bunch of eagles and a bob cat and other birds. nice engraving. on one side its engraved browning classic, on the other its engraved one of five thousand.

littlejake
07-25-2010, 5:07 PM
There is one for sale on gunbroker.com at $2900. Has some nice pictures.

http://www.gunbroker.com/Auction/ViewItem.aspx?Item=180477904