PDA

View Full Version : XD Vs. M&P for first handgun

Newshooter
07-22-2010, 5:23 PM
Another Newbie here looking for some input. I am looking to purchase my first semi-automatic pistol and have narrowed it down to the XD or the M&P. The gun will be a 9mm and will be full size. I was hoping to get any pros and/or cons for both models from the experienced users of this forum. Thanks for any and all input!!

CarlozRossi
07-22-2010, 5:41 PM
Imma noob too, and in the same position your in. I absolutely fell in love with both of these and in IMHO you can't go wrong with either. I've found that the XD has a bit more aftermarket accessories available though. Both have excellent ergonomics and both are really reliable.

I'm saving up for both. The Subcompact XD in 40. and a M&P9c. You'll find that the XD Service Model is about $100 less than the M&P. The M&P does have a lower bore axis than the XD but IMO you cant really tell a significant difference when firing both.

sholling
07-22-2010, 5:50 PM
Both are good reliable pistols. The M&P is made in the USA and the XD in Croatia. Both have lifetime warranties from companies renowned for their superb customer service. Personally I prefer the M&P for the lower barrel axis and the interchangeable backstrap allowing you to fit it to your hand or add a Crimson Trace grip laser. And I like the the looks of the M&P better. But both are excellent handguns. Both have lots of holster and accessory choices.

Edit: In the compact versions I prefer the 1/2" longer barrel of the M&P. The 3.5" M&P is every bit as concealable and the extra 1/2" of barrel improves the ballistics of round.

Legasat
07-22-2010, 5:55 PM
Both made my top 3 list when I was looking. I chose M&P because it was more comfortable in my hand, and therefore I shot it better (more accurately).

The only intelligent way for you to choose is to go rent both, and shoot them side by side (like I did). See which shoots better, which is more comfortable, etc.