PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Left Hander

UnitedWeStand
07-21-2010, 2:04 PM
Hello Everybody,
I am a newbie and would like some advice on purchasing a handgun. I am left handed and would like some recommendation. So far it looks like the FNX, H&k USP, and the Springfield XD are ambidextrous. Also should I buy a 9mm or a 45....Thanks in advance!!!!!!!!!!! :)

RandyD
07-21-2010, 2:13 PM
I am left handed and have owned, fired and had to use a variety of handguns for both duty and personal enjoyment, and I have never felt limited in being able to use any of those handguns. You just need to figure out how to use the handgun while holding it left handed. As an example, in using a 1911, I use my left trigger finger to manipulate the magazine release and slide stop. To actuate the safety, I use left thumb by moving it to the left side.

UnitedWeStand
07-21-2010, 2:21 PM
Thanks for the reply, but what about holster for a left hander and the 1911.

orangeusa
07-21-2010, 2:26 PM
CompTac(sp), BladeTec(sp), Blackhawk all resonably priced in Left or Right.
Safariland are higher end on the price range...

Don't konw about leather, but in general, lefty holsters are available just about every manufacturer, but usually not in stock. So you wait a bit longer.

Bolt action rifle is the only limitation I've seen so far. And yet, some lefty snipers using bolts exist, but as a simple shooter, never got the hang of bolt.

Handguns - in most cases are easy to control. And a lot of safeties anymore are ambi. Slide lock on some handguns is slightly more challenging, but just takes practice.

Oh, and the safety on my Marlin 60 is useless, so I just lock the bolt back to assure it's safe... :)

RandyD
07-21-2010, 2:28 PM
I have a Bianchi model 19L and have used it for over 25 years and it has served me well. Its not a high speed, low drag or high tech holster, but I don't need anything like that anyway. There are lots of newer designs out, just shop around and enjoy the process.

beaster