PDA

View Full Version : Fixed somehow .... THANKS!


Rhythm of Life
07-19-2010, 12:13 AM
I honestly can't believe this happened. I got a virus. I've run Avast, Comodo, and AVG and get no hits however every now and again my browser will open a new tab to someone's IP (guessing I'm now apart of someones botnet). Any other ideas to find and kill this beast?

patriot_man
07-19-2010, 1:06 AM
Did boot up in safe mode and run avg?

Marsoc1
07-19-2010, 1:12 AM
Internet options>connections>lan settings> make sure "proxy server" is unchecked

Ricky-Ray
07-19-2010, 1:42 AM
May not be a virus but spyware/malware. use another computer and download malwarebytes from http://www.malwarebytes.org/ and save it to a thumb drive and reboot the computer in safe mode. Install the software and run a scan.

SickofSoCal
07-19-2010, 1:43 AM
Stop visiting those porn sites......

E Pluribus Unum
07-19-2010, 2:57 AM
May not be a virus but spyware/malware. use another computer and download malwarebytes from http://www.malwarebytes.org/ and save it to a thumb drive and reboot the computer in safe mode. Install the software and run a scan.

What he said.... malware is voluntarily installed when you download and install a "free" program. For that reason, none of the virus scanners remove it because by definition, it is not a virus.

Rhythm of Life
07-19-2010, 5:55 AM
Forgot about Malware, I'll check that out right now.

Thanks guys.

Rhythm of Life
07-19-2010, 8:39 AM
Ran a scan and caught 24 items, but I'm still having issues. Any secondary ideas?

lazyworm
07-19-2010, 9:02 AM
You can download all the various different free/eval scanners and lather, rinse, repeat.
None of them catches everything, so it's best to use a few different ones.

Or you can reformat the drive(s) and reinstall windows, which will
generally take less time.

General advice...
* don't use IE
* don't click yes when a pop-up ask you for permissions unless you're expecting it.
* don't use windows if you can

i1800collect
07-19-2010, 9:32 AM
Ran a scan and caught 24 items, but I'm still having issues. Any secondary ideas?

It would probably be faster just to reformat.

If you'd rather not, download a couple more spybot, malware, and virus scanners and run them all. As someone else said, none of them will catch everything by itself.

You've used Malwarebytes I assume.

SuperAntiSpyware (http://www.superantispyware.com/)

Spybot S&D (http://www.safer-networking.org/en/home/index.html)

Microsoft Security Essentials (http://www.microsoft.com/Security_Essentials/)

SCB5794
07-19-2010, 10:13 AM
It would probably be faster just to reformat.

+
+1

FluorideInMyWater
07-19-2010, 10:24 AM
Ran a scan and caught 24 items, but I'm still having issues. Any secondary ideas?

run system restore from safe-mode. pick a date a week or so b4 u started having the problems.

Ricky-Ray
07-19-2010, 1:12 PM
If the virus scan and spyware/malware scan didn't fix it in safe mode then I would just copy my data off of it and reformat, and be back up and running in a few hours.

Rhythm of Life
07-19-2010, 1:40 PM
I was hoping it wouldn't come to this but I guess I'll have to reformat .... somehow. My license key for my OS has disappeared ><

Once again thanks for the tips everyone.

Ricky-Ray
07-19-2010, 1:47 PM
I was hoping it wouldn't come to this but I guess I'll have to reformat .... somehow. My license key for my OS has disappeared ><

Once again thanks for the tips everyone.

There are free programs out there that will help you recover the system key for Window's and Office. Do a google search and you'll be able to find it.

blisster
07-19-2010, 2:28 PM
get a Mac.

kapache
07-19-2010, 2:42 PM
get a Mac.

Or him upgrading to Ubuntu, its free and its base on Unix the same kernel structure as Mac.

Malthusian
07-19-2010, 2:59 PM
Make sure you have your data backed up
Download this and put it on your desktop: comf4.notlong.com

It is easier to locate it on your desktop in safe mode

It is called combo fix. Start in safe mode with network support
Watch it run, depending on your computer speed it could take as little as 2 minutes
or as long as 10 minutes

I have used all the various virus remedies you listed above and spent days trying to eradicate virus's etc

Then I run combo fix

It will delete some exe files. You can always re-install those.

Use at your own risk. 1 in 100 computers will crash the system.

If you have a Dell, you do not need your license key, but you have to use the Dell windows installation disk that came with your computer.

Here is keyfinder: http://www.magicaljellybean.com/keyfinder/

Rhythm of Life
07-19-2010, 3:50 PM
I'm not sure what I did but the issue has slowed in occurrence.

Thanks for the help everyone. A reformatting will be necessary but I'll wait until school starts up again.

E Pluribus Unum
07-19-2010, 10:01 PM
Or him upgrading to Ubuntu, its free and its base on Unix the same kernel structure as Mac.

Nope..... Ubuntu is LINUX-based.... not UNIX.

If you want a similar lineage, run FreeBSD... but Ubuntu IS better...