PDA

View Full Version : Para, Taurus, or Ruger?

Soul TKR
07-18-2010, 10:30 PM
Hey guys, I'm in the market for a defensive gun to have at home. I work graveyards and the wife being at home by herself is leaving me with uneasy feelings, with no way to defend herself. Currently my work gives me some nice discounts on these 3 brands. I also get a discount on Benelli, but the wife said she'd feel a lot more comfortable with a pistol/revolver than a shotgun so...

Just curoious what gun you'd recommend from these 3 brands and why?

side note... I'm fairly new to firearms so try to use lingo that a kindergardner would understand :rofl2:

NotEnoughGuns
07-18-2010, 10:36 PM
Ruger GP100 Or maybe even SP101 for a revolver or a P series pistol
Rugers are built like tanks and just plain work.

IrishPirate
07-18-2010, 10:50 PM
depends on what specific gun you're thinking of, and in what caliber. Much more goes into buying a gun than the manufacturer. What specifics are you looking for? that would help nail down what to go with and what to stay away from.

Uriah02
07-18-2010, 10:59 PM
If you were gonna drop the cash for a Para you could get a Kimber...

Soul TKR
07-18-2010, 11:08 PM
depends on what specific gun you're thinking of, and in what caliber. Much more goes into buying a gun than the manufacturer. What specifics are you looking for? that would help nail down what to go with and what to stay away from.

well I suppose you could look at this thread as not only "which brand" to go with but I'm also sort of looking for recommendations on a gun. Like I said, something reliable, defensive, and that the wife could handle if she needed to. This is all new territory to me so I'm open to suggestions...

If you were gonna drop the cash for a Para you could get a Kimber...

Are Para's any good? The research I've done on the web there's a lot of people saying they are crap...? Which is another reason I started this thread. Any validity to that?