PDA

View Full Version : Anyone interested in side mechanic job?

Lyte-
07-18-2010, 9:44 PM
As some of you know I had truck problems on my way up to the blm shoot this weekend.

I thought I just messed up my rotors by leaving the E brake on but turns out that I believe the bearing went out in my diff.

So I need the diff rebuild. My Boyfriend nor my self are comfortable doing this our selves and I am trying to avoid having to tow my truck to a repair shop and get raped on a diff rebuild so wondering if anyone is interested in coming to my house in Anaheim and doing this in my garage.

I have plenty of tools (but I would lack any specialized tools for diff jobs as I have never done one before) air tools, and $$$ for anyone one willing to come do it for a reasonable amount.

Truck details

1998 Ford F150 4.1L V6 2wd

I can give more details of what lead up to the break down upon request although google shows this as a common issue with the Fords....

Let me know ASAP! currently my truck is parked on the street in front of my house but street sweeping is thursday so I need to move it by then.

I am also looking for a good used rear axle that fits that I might just replace the whole axle if I can not get any takers.

Desert_Rat
07-19-2010, 8:00 PM
To tell You the truth,You might be better off getting a "New to You" axle and swapping it out.Not that Your's is unrepairable,more like it is a moderatley technical task to overhaul properly.I've done gazillions of differentials from little toyotas to 600 hp farm equipment.
Good Luck.

Lyte-
07-19-2010, 8:12 PM
I just took the housing off to inspect the damage and the gears are actually fine.

the issue is where the drivers side rear axle is "clamped down" (for lack of a better word) into the diff housing.

It was starting to get dark (i don't get off work till 5pm) so I put the diff cover back on but its looking more like its just the axle verse the diff.