PDA

View Full Version : Winchester PDX1 9mm+P opinions?

jdg30
07-18-2010, 9:16 AM
Yesterday I bought a couple boxes of Winchester Supreme Elite Bonded PDX1 124gr. 9mm+P ammo from Walmart because it was the first time I've actually seen it in stock there. I fired a few rounds of it through my Glock 26 to try it out and I didn't really notice a difference in recoil compared to the normal Federal 115gr. target ammo I usually shoot. I was expecting it to have snappier recoil than standard target ammo because it's rated as +P.

Has anyone else tried this ammo? If so, what are your opinions about it? I'm looking for some good self defense hollowpoint 9mm ammo that packs a good punch. This stuff was a good price at about $19 a box of 20 so I bought it. I tried a few 147gr. Speer Gold Dots (standard pressure) loaded in the same magazine and they had more kick than the Winchester. I'm kind of new to 9mm so any opinions appreciated. Here's a picture of the ammo:

http://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/attachment.php?attachmentid=62225&stc=1&d=1279473204

http://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/attachment.php?attachmentid=62234&stc=1&d=1279480580

http://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/attachment.php?attachmentid=62235&stc=1&d=1279480589

Could not get my camera to focus on the closeup of the bullet but I tried.

Noah3683
07-18-2010, 9:20 AM
$19 for 20 rds isn't a great deal. The ammo is essentially a bonded ranger series bullet placed in commercial packaging. This is a more cost effective way.

http://www.ammunitiontogo.com/catalog1/product_info.php/pName/50rds-9mm-speer-le-gold-dot-147gr-hp-ammo/cName/9mm-hollow-point-ammo

OneSevenDeuce
07-18-2010, 9:22 AM