PDA

View Full Version : Wanted some opinions!

PositiveInfluence
07-17-2010, 12:08 AM
Hi guys I am new here to Calguns! I wanted to find a place to chat about firearms and I think I cam to the right place.

So I am buying my first handgun tomorrow! At a local shop here in Sacramento they have multiple used Beretta 96FS(.40 S&W) and used Glock 22's and I can't quite choose which to buy. I am pretty sure they are going to be about the same price, the Beretta is on sale for $429.00 and I doubt a used Glock is much more. So I wanted some opinions from you guys, which would be a good starting handgun? I am leaning towards the Beretta since that is the firearm I qualified with at the range when I was shooting to qualify for my firearms permit. I have had little experience in handguns and I seemed to do well with the Beretta. (Shot a 225/250 for those that know what the scoring is like for CA Guard's)

i1800collect
07-17-2010, 12:21 AM
If you're most comfortable with the Beretta, you should buy the Beretta. $429 is a pretty good price.

Glocks are incredibly simple and easy to learn and use, but they're not for everyone. I'd recommend renting/shooting one before purchasing one.

adamsreeftank
07-17-2010, 1:21 AM
If you are comfortable with a Beretta, then at least you will know what you are getting. In the long run, I think the Glock is a better design for the simple fact that it has a consistent trigger pull. I'm not a fan of DA/SA guns.

bjl333
07-17-2010, 2:06 AM
If you're most comfortable with the Beretta, you should buy the Beretta.

If you are comfortable with a Beretta, then at least you will know what you are getting.

The main thing is if SHTF then you'll revert back to your training which is on the Beretta, and you mentioned you do well with the Beretta ...

Get the Beretta !!!

Munk
07-17-2010, 3:41 AM