PDA

View Full Version : Went to Jackson Arms yesterday....

NorCal_
06-27-2010, 6:53 AM
While I was at the indoor range, I was really focusing on my shot placement and stance. I brought two handguns with me, a sig mosquito and my MP .45. With the sig i was having no issues at all placing my shots where i wanted them. Then i started to shoot the .45 and I couldn't tell if it was me (most likely the case) or possibly my sights on the gun. Every shot I took at centermass of the target, ended up landing way low but still lined up where i was shooting. Then I noticed when I started shooting for the head on the target I was closer to the location I was aiming for but still a little low. Anyone have an idea what this could be caused from? Someone i spoke to yesterday suggested having the front sight lowered or shaved down a little bit.

1 SIG fan
06-27-2010, 7:03 AM
Load some snap caps in your mags. Your flinching and dropping the muzzle in anticipation of the .45 round

JJ1911
06-27-2010, 7:09 AM
My guess is also flinching. The sights should not be off by that much. Have someone else shoot it and see how they do.

jdg30
06-27-2010, 7:15 AM
Don't shave down your sights, you just need to work on grip and trigger control. Dry fire practice and throwing in a snap cap while you are shooting with normal rounds at the range will show you if you are flinching when you fire the gun.

lazs
06-27-2010, 7:19 AM
How many rounds did you fire?

Marlin Hunter
06-27-2010, 7:34 AM
Lighting, sun or indoor light bulbs, can play tricks on you when using iron sights. If your sights don't have sharp edges you can shot higher, lower, more to the left, or more to the right. If your front sight had a rounded edge on the top, you would shoot high. If you rear sight had a rounded edge on the top, you would shoot lower.