PDA

View Full Version : Comcast internet subscribers


masameet
06-27-2010, 12:40 AM
Has your access speed -- or whatever it's called -- gone up noticeably?

Mine has. And I'm completely astounded.

A few days ago it crept up to 1 GB and then kept steadily rising. Right now it's at a whopping 15.6 GB.

I've been with Comcast for almost 5 years now. At times I was lucky to be connected at 14 MB. Usually it was stuck around 350 to 450 MB.

I'm guessing that the incredible increase is partly due to my town recently signing a contract to provide free internet access to the northern part of my town.

blisster
06-27-2010, 1:39 AM
15.6 GBps?


please post some screenshots from http://speakeasy.net/speedtest/

I need to see this. I'm in Solano County and this is what I get:

Last Result:
Download Speed: 23182 kbps (2897.8 KB/sec transfer rate)
Upload Speed: 5704 kbps (713 KB/sec transfer rate)

i1800collect
06-27-2010, 1:55 AM
I also have Comcast cable and I have noticed that my connection has gotten noticeably faster over the last year or so as well.

I'm near San Jose and this is what I'm getting:

http://www.speedtest.net/result/860934884.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

I'm pretty satisfied with the speed. It's nowhere near 15.6GB/s tho. :eek:

blisster
06-27-2010, 1:56 AM
I also have Comcast cable and I have noticed that my connection has gotten noticeably faster over the last year or so as well.

I'm near San Jose and this is what I'm getting:

http://www.speedtest.net/result/860934884.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

I'm pretty satisfied with the speed. It's nowhere near 15.6GB/s tho. :eek:

lol, yeah. If someone's getting GB/s then I'm pissed! Otherwise I'm pretty happy with Comcrap.

-R-
06-27-2010, 2:04 AM
Not on comcast, so its kind of irrelevant. 15gb/s upload is unheard of :eek:

I use Roadrunner (brighthouse)

Im happy with the speed though, it is more than enough for me. Upload speed could be a little better though.

http://www.speedtest.net/result/860945229.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

blisster
06-27-2010, 2:17 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/860954654.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

masameet
06-27-2010, 2:36 AM
Well, my Mac widget says:

http://i201.photobucket.com/albums/aa184/masameet/Screenshot2010-06-27at32849AM.jpg

But using that speed test site I get:

http://i201.photobucket.com/albums/aa184/masameet/Screenshot2010-06-27at33046AM.jpg

lol

Result might be less than everybody else's but it's a big leap for me! :)

i1800collect
06-27-2010, 3:23 AM
Well, my Mac widget says:

http://i201.photobucket.com/albums/aa184/masameet/Screenshot2010-06-27at32849AM.jpg

But using that speed test site I get:

http://i201.photobucket.com/albums/aa184/masameet/Screenshot2010-06-27at33046AM.jpg

lol

Result might be less than everybody else's but it's a big leap for me! :)

Are you sure that Mac widget is for your connection speed? If I had to guess, I'd guess the widget is keeping track of how much you have downloaded and uploaded via torrents or other stuff from that computer (since it says "GB" and "MB" rather than "GB/s" and "MB/s", and b/c there is a 0B/s under both the upload and download totals).

thevic
06-27-2010, 3:26 AM
lololololol