PDA

View Full Version : Glock Guide Rod

OneSevenDeuce
06-26-2010, 4:31 PM
Many of you may have seen my post on getting a new Glock 17. But I do have a question. Does anyone recommend swapping the plastic guide rod for a steel one? Does it make a difference? If so, can you recommend a brand?

Ultimate
06-26-2010, 4:36 PM
I don't really see a reason to do so. I've only seen the guide rod failure on the youtube video where the guy was doing a high round count torture test doing rapid fire and the gun got too hot and melted the rod but the gun still fired flawlessly.

I've shot plenty of rounds through my glock while hot and never had an issue.

So unless you plan to carry 50+ magazines and perform rapid fire through all of them in one session I don't see a real reliability benefit.

Maybe if you want to replace it with a tungsten one for additional weight to help with recoil but I have no experience with that.

kozumasbullitt
06-26-2010, 4:38 PM
I would leave the stock one in there, many companies use poly guide rods.

nmerced
06-26-2010, 4:43 PM
Stock plastic guide rod works just fine. No difference in performance.

Muaythaishooter
06-26-2010, 4:50 PM
I changed the rod in my G23 and G19 only because it bugged me that it was polymer and it was cheap. I put 3000 rds on my G19 before i changed it and no problems with the polymer rod. I purchased 2 of them to put in both glocks. Since the stainless steel rod was heavier than the OEM rod it reduced my recoil on my G23. Can't really notice on my G19 since it doesn't have much of a recoil. I recommend it. It makes a great glock better. Heres the link if your interested:

http://glockstore.com/pgroup_descrip/7_Parts+%26amp%3B+Accessories/2138_Stainless+Steel+Guide+Rod/?return=%3ftpl%3Dindex%26category_id%3D7%26_Parts% 2B%26amp%3B%2BAccessories%2F

Slammy
06-26-2010, 5:35 PM
http://guiderod.com/index.html

Steve Bedair makes some of the best rods around. He has some real nice checkered end ones that rock.

G38xOC