PDA

View Full Version : Hate to ask.... but how can I un-register my handguns?

KTGunner
06-25-2010, 8:37 AM
I know... use the search button. But I must be really bad at it because I can't seem to find a thread on how to un-register my handguns with the CA DOJ after I move out of state. I've been a happy happy happy (very happy) Californian-in-exile-Texan for a few months now and I don't feel like the CA DOJ needs to keep any records on me. What is the procedure for erasing my name from the state system? I can promise them my guns won't touch CA soil ever again :cool:

69Mach1
06-25-2010, 8:40 AM
http://ag.ca.gov/firearms/forms/pdf/BOF4546NLIP0209.pdf

This is all I can find. I don't think there is a way to un-reg.

adrenaline
06-25-2010, 8:46 AM
As a software engineer, I imagine that their system is designed for history. While they would mark a firearm as not actively registered to you in CA....my guess is that you will never permanently erase that registration information.

Just a guess....I could be wrong.

paul0660
06-25-2010, 8:47 AM
If......Texas allows for private sale of handguns without registration, you could sell your guns to a buddy for a dollar, file a "No longer in possession" form with California, and buy them back for a dollar. DOJ will still have a paper trail, but the guns won't be registered to you.

HowardW56
06-25-2010, 8:48 AM
I'm fairly sure that the information is there forever... Along with some identifier for anyone who accessed the information.

KTGunner
06-25-2010, 8:57 AM
Thanks 69Mach1. That form has a place for "No Longer a Resident of California".

I'm not terribly afraid of being in the system forever. I just know that for certain police departments, information on your handgun ownership can come up if they run you for a traffic violation. I just would prefer if that didn't happen. I suppose if they see my Texas license, they'll form a few ideas based on that fact anyways.

Crom
06-25-2010, 9:20 AM