PDA

View Full Version : What to put into a Saiga/AK Spare Parts Kit?

4DSJW
06-23-2010, 4:12 PM
I have an unmodified Saiga 7.62x39. Since I am new to the platform I'm looking for suggestions on what parts might wear out or break that would need replacement, so that I can put together a spare parts kit. I know that these are supposed to be pretty robust and built like a tank but I'm sure that there must be something worth keeping on hand "just in case".

And while we're at it, for those that have experience with this rifle, is a recoil buffer a good thing to add... or just ANOTHER THING to add?

Thank You for Your Help!

supermario
06-23-2010, 4:17 PM
I'm sure its great to always have spare parts but with my saiga, I just keep a bore snake, wire brush and small CLP, I think if you keep it clean, you won't ever have to worry about it! IMHO

tlillard23
06-23-2010, 4:17 PM
More ammo? maybe some oil if you are shooting buddy carries an AR..... :eek:

NeoWeird
06-23-2010, 5:13 PM
I'm assuming we're talking with the sake of keeping the spare parts WITH the rifle, like in the buttstock or a spare compartment, so I'll ignore anything larger than the rifle itself.

Well, a spare bolt would be GREAT but the AK platform is VERY hard to setup two bolts to run in the same gun and even then it takes a LOT of work for little benifit (in fact, it's probably less work and cheaper all around for the average person to just buy a second AK/Saiga).