PDA

View Full Version : What else will McDonald incorporate

IrishPirate
06-21-2010, 11:27 AM
I thought I remembered hearing that other weapons such as knives, axes, swords, etc. were ruled by some court to be covered under "arms" in the second amendment. If we get incorporation through McDonald, does the language of the complaint allow for a decision which would cover these items as well, or will McDonald deal only with the incorporation of the 2A as it pertains to firearms? I'm no legal expert, but if it's a flat out incorporation of the 2A, wouldn't that include firearms AND other weapons covered by the 2A (assuming that what i heard about the other weapons was true)? If i'm missing something please explain it to me....

Gray Peterson
06-21-2010, 11:51 AM
Maloney v. Rice being held in abeyence with McDonald. Expect a GVR.

IrishPirate
06-21-2010, 11:53 AM
thanks...but what's GVR? likei said, not a legal expert

Window_Seat
06-21-2010, 12:05 PM
Grant, Vacate, and Remand.

Erik.

IrishPirate
06-21-2010, 3:13 PM
ok, so basically SCOTUS would GVR back to the lower courts and say something like "review our decision on McDonald when deciding this case"? Kinda like telling them, we're not going to hear this case, but we expect that you'll rule in this way, otherwise we'll have to hear it...and you don't want that to happen.........is it that kind of thing?

also, that case deals strictly with nunchucks for martial arts use in the home in NY, and doesn't really grant any further use of them, nor the use of any other non-firearm weapons, so is there any other cases that WOULD grant 24/7 carry and possession of such weapons?

Gray Peterson
06-21-2010, 4:02 PM
A GVR usually means "Review it since you most likely got it wrong in your decision".

press1280
06-21-2010, 4:54 PM