PDA

View Full Version : Is free antivirus just as good?

xxsleepyxx
06-20-2010, 8:58 PM
Or is the paid version definitely more protective and effective?

Paltik.45acp
06-20-2010, 9:22 PM
I have the Avast free version and it seems to be doing a good job of keeping my laptop virus free.

Vacaville
06-20-2010, 9:25 PM
I have the Avast free version and it seems to be doing a good job of keeping my laptop virus free.

+1 on Avast. I've been using it for the past couple of years.

ldivinag
06-20-2010, 10:28 PM
microsoft's security essentials is free and i use a lot at work to get rid of crap that mcafee enterprise version doesnt.

Doheny
06-20-2010, 10:29 PM
/\/\ Ditto. It's real good.

psssniper
06-20-2010, 10:48 PM
malwarebytes

avg

spybot

all free and good stuff

ShootinMedic
06-20-2010, 10:55 PM
+2 for Avast! I have been using it for years and have never had any problems with it.

Ricky-Ray
06-20-2010, 11:44 PM
I have been using AVG free edition since 2001. It's worked well for me.

patriot_man
06-21-2010, 12:10 AM
avg is great

i1800collect
06-21-2010, 12:15 AM
Microsoft Security Essentials (http://www.microsoft.com/Security_Essentials/)

Malwarebytes (http://www.malwarebytes.org/)

SuperAntiSpyware (http://www.superantispyware.com/)

All 3 are free and have served me very well.

Rhythm of Life
06-21-2010, 8:04 AM
Avast!

AVG is second place IMO.

Turo
06-21-2010, 8:14 AM
microsoft's security essentials is free and i use a lot at work to get rid of crap that mcafee enterprise version doesnt.

That's what I'm using, and it's done great for my roommate for a few months now. (computer science major, so I trust what he tells me.)

Brianguy
06-21-2010, 1:00 PM
AVG and Avast! are the best

Dangerpin
06-21-2010, 1:50 PM