PDA

View Full Version : Question about bringing handguns to CA while on vacation

4P0X1
06-20-2010, 4:16 AM
I'm an Active Duty stationed at Elmendorf Afb, Alaska. I purchased few handguns and acquired a few from my uncle who was from Tennessee before he moved to Hawaii (I have a bill of sale for those acquired from my uncle). My question is: I'm a resident of California, but stationed in Alaska. I plan on flying back to California for vacation and plan on bring two hand guns with me (checking it in with my luggage). Will I have to register the gun or fill out any paper work in order to do that? Will I be able to open carry without a problem while I'm there?

Bobula
06-20-2010, 4:19 AM
No paperwork needed, don't bring any magazines higher then a 10 round capacity and open carrying in CA must be done UNLOADED, and will draw LE attention. I would not recommend it....

Quiet
06-20-2010, 4:22 AM
No paperwork needed, don't bring any magazines higher then a 10 round capacity and open carrying in CA must be done UNLOADED, and will draw LE attention. I would not recommend it....
:iagree:

Bobula
06-20-2010, 4:24 AM
Oh also, no threaded barrels if its a semi auto handgun.
Its hand to cover all the laws without knowing what guns you're bringing.

Quiet
06-20-2010, 4:29 AM
Listing what you want to bring, would be ideal.

You can't bring any handgun that is defined as an "assault weapon" or "short barrelled shotgun". So, listing what you want to bring can determine if they fit in one of those categories.

Greg-Dawg
06-20-2010, 4:33 AM
And don't open carry. It's still a very grey area...unless you're staying at a Starbucks.

Greg-Dawg
06-20-2010, 4:33 AM
Welcome to the site.

Malthusian
06-20-2010, 4:53 AM