PDA

View Full Version : article 1: California state constitution

calixt0
06-19-2010, 7:21 PM
SECTION 1. All people are by nature free and independent and have
inalienable rights. Among these are enjoying and defending life and
liberty, acquiring, possessing, and protecting property, and pursuing
and obtaining safety, happiness, and privacy.

With this being as part of our state constitution why do so many say if you protect your property with force you leave yourself open to litigation.... not only protecting property but protecting your well being or life. Seems like with this being stated as an absolute right in the state that anyone who protected their property or themselves even short of fear of life would be ok legally. I'm not a lawyer and am hoping to hear others views of such things

after reading stuff like this and even our federal constitution it makes me ill how some have twisted things that were written so clearly to make them so complicated.

hoffmang
06-19-2010, 7:27 PM
However, the California Supreme Court has ruled that that doesn't mean you have the right to keep/own/use or otherwise look at a firearm. See Kasler v. Lockyer (http://www.hoffmang.com/firearms/Kasler-v-Lockyer.pdf).

-Gene

winnre
06-19-2010, 7:41 PM
According to this Article, the thief who was trying to possess MY property has a right to do so!

wildhawker
06-19-2010, 7:48 PM
Search this forum for posts by Gene or me using "supremacy" or "preemption" as a keyword; you'll find some discussion on this subject (it tends to come up every so often).

glockman19
06-19-2010, 9:00 PM
SECTION 1. All people are by nature free and independent and have
inalienable rights. Among these are enjoying and defending life and
liberty, acquiring, possessing, and protecting property, and pursuing
and obtaining safety, happiness, and privacy.