PDA

View Full Version : If you have a .22 and a .380APC What's the next gun to buy?

newHGowner
06-19-2010, 1:13 AM
Just got a couple handguns from my grandpa. One is a .22 and the other is a .380. Just wondering, out of ALL the guns on California's list of guns for sale, what should be the first gun I buy? It'll probably be a while before I buy one, but I'm a newbie, and am wondering what your favorite gun is and why? Rant as long as you want. I want to learn as much as I can, about your favorite gun.

Black Majik
06-19-2010, 1:24 AM
Welcome to Calguns, and the world of shooting. A few things to establish first.

Price budget you're wiling to spend? If you don't give us a price I'm gonna recommend you something mighty expensive. :D

Preferred calibers? 9mm, .40, .45, .357, .38 spl, or maybe a 454 casull?

Metal or polymer frame?

semi-auto or revolver?

paper or plastic?

Chicken or beef?

We need more details on what you intend to use the gun for.

PutTogether
06-19-2010, 1:27 AM
Not to be a nitpicker, but it is "ACP" not "APC."

It stands for Automatic Colt Pistol.

If you already have a .22 then you "need" a .357 revolver. A .357 revolver is the best of all worlds. I can't answer your question for you obviously, but there isn't much you can't do with a good .357 - your options are WIDE open.

Plink, hunt, practice, home defense, can shoot anything from weak .38 to powerful .357 magnums.

The best NEW one currently available for sale I believe is the S&W 627. All the standard benefits of a revolver, plus two extra shots.

http://criminalhandbook.com/627/1.jpg

http://criminalhandbook.com/627/3.jpg

http://criminalhandbook.com/627/2.jpg

slobson
06-19-2010, 1:37 AM