PDA

View Full Version : Interstate, intrafamily transfer of off-roster handgun

pgg
06-18-2010, 3:30 PM
I'm a Virginia resident, active duty, with PCS orders to a base in California.

My father lives in Arizona. He wants to buy and give me a Ruger LCP.

What hoops must he/I jump through? Is it as simple as
1) he goes to a dealer in AZ, picks one out, and pays for it
2) AZ dealer ships it to CA FFL
3) I go to CA FFL and pick it up (after waiting period)

Is there a way this must be flagged as a father-son gift? Any tips for how I should educate a dubious CA FFL that I can legally obtain an off-roster gun in this manner? Thank you.

Librarian
06-18-2010, 4:22 PM
The newly updated Calguns Foundation Wiki has that information, right here: http://wiki.calgunsfoundation.org/index.php/The_Safe_Handgun_List#A_Brief_.22How_To_Do_It.22_I nterstate.2C_Intrafamily

pgg
06-18-2010, 4:52 PM
That's awesome information. Thanks. :)

Unfortunately so far I'm 0 for 2 in calling FFLs. They don't believe me when I say it's legal. :(

halifax
06-18-2010, 4:56 PM
Post your location. Maybe a Calgunner can put you in touch with a savvy dealer.

pgg
06-18-2010, 5:43 PM
Post your location. Maybe a Calgunner can put you in touch with a savvy dealer.

Hanford CA.

So far The Range in Fresno is the only place that's even willing to admit such a thing MAY be possible, but said they'd have to call DOJ next week to find out. (Which gives me little confidence since my own telephone conversations with DOJ have not always been enlightening, accurate, or even internally consistent.) I did fax them the info in the Wiki though.

creekside
06-18-2010, 5:46 PM
>> Which gives me little confidence since my own telephone conversations with DOJ have not always been enlightening, accurate, or even internally consistent.

E-mail or write. Don't bother calling. IMAO.

halifax
06-18-2010, 5:48 PM
Hanford CA.