PDA

View Full Version : Action of Law Trasfer???

4DSJW
06-17-2010, 5:46 PM
My dad would like to give me a pistol that he owns. He is now a Nevada resident and I am a CA resident. He called the FFL that he used to do business with in CA and explained what he wanted to do and that he currently lives in NV.

The FFL told him that all he had to do was to fill out an "Act of Law Transfer" form, available from the DOJ, send it in with a $25 fee and we would be good to go.

This does not sound right to me as Federal law requires the pistol to pass through an FFL if it is going between states and CA considers it an Intrafamilial transfer. I did a search on CalGuns and the web for information on that particular form and could not find anything... but I don't know everything by a stretch and thought I would ask here. Has anyone ever heard of this form, either CA DOJ or Federal DOJ, or know how it would work.

Thank you for your help!

bwiese
06-17-2010, 6:11 PM
You are correct to worry. The FFL is wrong. He was probably also trying to be nice and (in theory) attempt to save you money.

Guns transferred across state lines generally need to go thru an FFL in the receiving state.

There is an "intrafamily exemption" (for certain lineal relatives) in CA law - but that's when both parties are CA residents in CA!

But Fed law does not recognize this and requires FFL use. [Really, the only major exemption to avoiding FFL use in transfers is in the case of bequest/inheritance - and that means the supplying party is indeed *dead* - not that Gramps is getting old and wants to give you his guns.]

Normally there are concerns about the handgun's Roster status but these are moot because the intrafamily exemption to the Roster applies.

So now, what CAN be done is this:

your dad writes a gift letter (to be shipped with gun), identifying the gun and parties' names/relationship:

<Date>
"I, Joe Blow, want my son, John Blow, to have
this nice Colt Python revolver, S/N 123456.