PDA

View Full Version : Your thoughts on Linux

locosway
06-06-2010, 9:38 PM
Well, I've been using Linux at home for 10 years now. Because of my playing with Linux early on I've held several nice paying jobs supporting the Linux OS. I must say, I'm very fond of the Linux OS as a whole and have converted a few family members over to it.

So, what do you think of Linux?

thevic
06-06-2010, 9:46 PM
been awhile since i used linux, but i loved suse

johnthomas
06-06-2010, 10:03 PM
Years ago I tried it, didn't like it. My computer life started with windows. Kind of like an evil sister, gives you problems, does things you don't like, but hey, she is still your sister. Thru the years and different windows programs it has been a love hate relationship.

maverickmage
06-06-2010, 10:09 PM
I used to use Slackware and Gentoo (lol I was a stickler for punishment). But in the end reverted back to Windows because of 1 reason.

I want to play games. It was too much of a hassle to dual boot also since it required me to reboot everytime I wanted to play some games for a bit.

mousegun
06-06-2010, 10:10 PM
Run Linux on an SSH accessible workstation and two servers (NAS, VPN, proxy, etc.) in the garage and via liveUSB device on my notebook. Two of the kids have run Linux on their desktops, and run it occasionally now from liveUSB devices. The proxy/NAS servers support a hybrid network (fast ethernet wired, WIFI) with five Windows clients, two Win/Linux clients.

Only reason we're not 100% Linux is requirements of school or law practice. Windows is mainly a legacy issue now.

Present dominant distro is PCLinuxOS. Have used Gentoo, Knoppix and SuSE.

Think I like it?

7x57
06-06-2010, 10:10 PM
What's Microsoft? Sounds like a social disease. ;)

7x57

locosway
06-06-2010, 10:13 PM
What's Microsoft? Sounds like a social disease. ;)

7x57

It's a form of ED

locosway
06-06-2010, 10:14 PM