PDA

View Full Version : Internet down, but can still access CalGuns?


haveyourmile
06-03-2010, 5:20 PM
So I can't get to any website in either of my browsers (IE, Firefox) but I can browse and post on CalGuns. Also, my Torrent program is running fine in the background (I am ACTIVELY downloading a torrent as we speak).

What the hell could be causing this?

Barabas
06-03-2010, 5:26 PM
Are you on Comcast? I've been having odd intermittent issues during the last hour.

haveyourmile
06-03-2010, 5:29 PM
Are you on Comcast? I've been having odd intermittent issues during the last hour.

I am on Comcast, yeah.

The weird thing though, is that I can access Calguns but not ANY other website. Google, facebook, gmail, bbc, youtube, etc do not work for me. My torrent program is running with access to the internet, calguns lets me access, but my sportsbook poker can't connect to the internet either. It's really really weird.

I just pinged google, facebook, and slickdeals and they all came back "ping request could not find [name}" but it worked for Calguns.

WHY ARE YOU THE ONLY ONE WHO LOVES ME CALGUNS?

Barabas
06-03-2010, 5:31 PM
DNS server is probably down and not giving you a response on your requests. You've been on calguns for more than an hour? It's still in your browser cache.

haveyourmile
06-03-2010, 5:36 PM
If it's cached how can I still post new posts? Wouldn't I have to be connected for that? I can understand browsing but I'm able to post and get other peoples new posts.

Also, what about my torrent program being connected, but my sportsbook poker not connecting?

Is there a way to fix it?

Cokebottle
06-03-2010, 5:45 PM
If it's cached how can I still post new posts? Wouldn't I have to be connected for that? I can understand browsing but I'm able to post and get other peoples new posts.

Also, what about my torrent program being connected, but my sportsbook poker not connecting?

Is there a way to fix it?
DNS issue.

The current IP address used by Calguns is still in your browser cache, so your computer simply sends a request to http://206.125.47.50, rather than to "www.calguns.net"

When you access other sites, they are no longer in the cache, so your browser sends a request for http://www.yahoo.com, and, under normal conditions, Comcast's DNS server looks that up and routes your request to http://67.195.145.137

The torrent program probably connects directly to the server's IP address... not the hostname.

Try this:

http://www.linkline.com
http://216.66.249.76

If my guess is right, you won't be able to connect to the first, but you will be able to connect to the 2nd one.

Google
http://66.102.7.104

Facebook
http://66.220.153.11

Slickdeals
http://64.38.238.98

Edit: Looks like the Yahoo and Linkline direct IP links don't work, but Google, Facebook, and SD do.

ke6guj
06-03-2010, 5:54 PM
If it's cached how can I still post new posts? Wouldn't I have to be connected for that? I can understand browsing but I'm able to post and get other peoples new posts.whats cached is the DNS info to get to calguns. When you start up your computer and fire up your browser and try to go to CGN, you type in calguns.net and your computer asks the upstream DNS server for the IP address for calguns.net. The DNS server responds with 206.125.47.50 and uses that to get the info from CGN. computers use IP addresses to communicate, but it is hard for humans to remember 206.125.47.50, but it is easier to remember calguns.net. So the DNS server is like 411 for computers, converts names to numbers.

Now, since your computer now knows that CGN equals 206.125.47.50, it puts that in its DNS cache, and the next time you need to go to CGN, it looks inthe cache and sees that it has the number, and doesn't have to ask the DNS server.

This is repeated for all websites that you go to. Now, if the DNS server is down, you can't convert new names into numbers, but existing names that are in your cache will still be there to browse with.

Try this, put http://72.30.2.43 into your browser and you'll load up www.yahoo.com even though you didn't type in www.yahoo.com.

And if you flush your DNS cache, you won't even be able to get back to CGN until the DNS servers come back online.

Also, what about my torrent program being connected, but my sportsbook poker not connecting?same thing, either the addresses are cached, or they are using IP addressses.

Is there a way to fix it?you either wait until the DNS servers come back up, change your DNS server settings to a public DNS server, or use the actual IP address to navigate (but if you don't have them written down, you're out of luck).

todd2968
06-03-2010, 6:01 PM
What other website do you need, besides CALGUNS?????

Cokebottle
06-03-2010, 6:03 PM
Try this, put http://72.30.2.43 into your browser and you'll load up www.yahoo.com (http://www.yahoo.com) even though you didn't type in www.yahoo.com (http://www.yahoo.com).
Yahoo apparently doesn't like us going directly to the server:

http://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/attachment.php?attachmentid=57792&d=1275617019

JDay
06-03-2010, 7:00 PM
Run this in a command prompt.

ipconfig /flushdns

ke6guj
06-03-2010, 7:10 PM
Run this in a command prompt.

do that and you won't be able to go to any websites until your DNS servers come back up.

If you want to, you could try manually setting your DNS server settingsto one of the free DNS servers and see if that helps you.


Free Public DNS Server

Service provider: Google
■8.8.8.8
■8.8.4.4

Service provider: ScrubIt
Public dns server address:
■67.138.54.100
■207.225.209.66

Service provider:dnsadvantage
Dnsadvantage free dns server list:
■156.154.70.1
■156.154.71.1

Service provider:OpenDNS
OpenDNS free dns server list:
■208.67.222.222
■208.67.220.220

Service provider: vnsc-pri.sys.gtei.net
Public Name server IP address:
■4.2.2.1
■4.2.2.2
■4.2.2.3
■4.2.2.4
■4.2.2.5
■4.2.2.6

JDay
06-03-2010, 7:15 PM
do that and you won't be able to go to any websites until your DNS servers come back up.

If you want to, you could try manually setting your DNS server settingsto one of the free DNS servers and see if that helps you.


Free Public DNS Server

Service provider: Google
■8.8.8.8
■8.8.4.4

Service provider: ScrubIt
Public dns server address:
■67.138.54.100
■207.225.209.66

Service provider:dnsadvantage
Dnsadvantage free dns server list:
■156.154.70.1
■156.154.71.1

Service provider:OpenDNS
OpenDNS free dns server list:
■208.67.222.222
■208.67.220.220

Service provider: vnsc-pri.sys.gtei.net
Public Name server IP address:
■4.2.2.1
■4.2.2.2
■4.2.2.3
■4.2.2.4
■4.2.2.5
■4.2.2.6

OpenDNS rocks, I set the DNS servers to them on my router. They tend to be faster than my ISPs DNS server too.

L4D
06-03-2010, 8:20 PM
Wouldn't it be funny if all you needed to do was restart your PC and or router.

Barabas
06-04-2010, 7:40 AM
It wouldn't be funny at all, because this isn't an issue with HYM's computer. Comcast infrequently kills their Domain Name Servers for whatever reason. Since the IP is cached in HYM's browser, resetting the computer would flush that IP making Calguns unreachable via domain name.

I switched over to gtei.net's public name servers YEARS ago; 4.2.2.1 and 4.2.2.2 have NEVER gone down as far as I can tell and are usually pretty snappy. I'll likely add OpenDNS' servers as backups if requests ever slow down too much.

thefinger
06-04-2010, 10:22 AM
I work with programmers, and I was just learning about this issue a few weeks ago from one of my coworkers. He said he has this problem with Comcast and their DNS servers going down before. Unless you are a big tech geek like my bud and know how to fix this, you probably will just have to wait for Comcast to fix their s***. SUCKS.

haveyourmile
07-04-2010, 10:49 AM
I work with programmers, and I was just learning about this issue a few weeks ago from one of my coworkers. He said he has this problem with Comcast and their DNS servers going down before. Unless you are a big tech geek like my bud and know how to fix this, you probably will just have to wait for Comcast to fix their s***. SUCKS.

That sucks. It happens a few times a week for an hour or more and CalGuns is consistently the only site I am able to access.

And yes, I've tried restarting my computer and resetting my router. Doesn't work.

ke6guj
07-04-2010, 2:49 PM
That sucks. It happens a few times a week for an hour or more and CalGuns is consistently the only site I am able to access.


change your DNS servers to one on the public list posted above and you won't have to worry about your ISP's DNS servers going out multiple times a week.

johnthomas
07-04-2010, 3:06 PM
Go to internet explorer. It just may be your yahoo . I use firefox myself.

nick
07-04-2010, 3:11 PM
As others said, it's likely a DNS issue. You've been on Calguns for some time, so the DNS info for it is cached on your computer. Once that cache expires (what's the TTL on www.calguns.net again? Too lazy to check), you won't be able to access it.

Try accessing 72.30.2.43 (it's one of Yahoo IPs) and it'll work.

nick
07-04-2010, 3:13 PM
It wouldn't be funny at all, because this isn't an issue with HYM's computer. Comcast infrequently kills their Domain Name Servers for whatever reason. Since the IP is cached in HYM's browser, resetting the computer would flush that IP making Calguns unreachable via domain name.

I switched over to gtei.net's public name servers YEARS ago; 4.2.2.1 and 4.2.2.2 have NEVER gone down as far as I can tell and are usually pretty snappy. I'll likely add OpenDNS' servers as backups if requests ever slow down too much.

+1 on Verizon. I use their DNS servers when I don't have a compelling reason to use anything else. Some ISPs block outgoing DNS queries to anything but their servers though. Not sure about Comcast, but cable providers in general love to play with filtering.

humgunner
07-04-2010, 3:33 PM
obama's testing the "kill switch".