PDA

View Full Version : Just bought a Mac, my review so far.


Blackhawk556
06-02-2010, 1:27 AM
Ok so i bought a Macbook Pro 2.4ghz 4gb 250HDD

I didn't want to jump into the Mac platform just because so i waited and waited. I'm very familiar with windows so moving to another platform was not hard.
I ran into a problem last night:eek:
I was browsing the internet and my computer just froze. It wasn't porn:p
I was actually here on calguns when I noticed that the cursor would not move anymore. At first, I thought it was just trying to finish processing something but then i noticed that nothing would work. i tried pressing buttons on the keyboard and NOTHING would happen. Finally I just held the power button and restarted. Other than this, everything else has been fine so far.

One thing that I like is that the laptop shuts down very fast, I just hit shut down and that thing is dead in a few seconds. Also, waking from sleep is fast.

what I don't like is that it has an internal battery. I know that Apple as done many improvements and claims that the 13" model has a 10hr life between charge. Should I always have it charging? No!
I would like the option of removing the battery while at the house but too bad.

I'm not use to the dock just yet, I don't like that i can't minimize thing by clicking on the icon below and why isn't there an easy way to maximize screens????? I click on the green button on top left and it doesn't fill up the screen. So far I like the taskbar on windows 7 waaayyyyy better. Macs need aero snap also.

The system preferences seem very basic, not many options to confuse people. Is there an advance settings page???? or a diagnostics page or something similar as there is in windows????

Blackhawk556
06-02-2010, 1:46 AM
I started another thread earlier and asked about partitions and windows 7 product keys. Several of you suggested I try VMware fusion so I'm doing that now as i write this. I wanted windows on my Mac because I got a free copy of windows 7 and office 2007 directly from MS. i've tried using office for Mac but I'm not use to it (and i don't want to buy it:D)

Ok so VMware installed windows 7 in about 30min. I was writing my review above when it finished so i'm not sure how long it took but 30min is about right. My Macbook is obviously running a little slower. the cursor doesn't move as fast but it is good most of the time. VMware is offering a 12 month complementary virus protection from Mcaffe virusscan plus but I think i'm going to pass on that bloat stuff.

aero seems to be turned off, gotta find a way to turn it on.

i'll be back

Casual_Shooter
06-02-2010, 8:28 AM
Ok so i bought a Macbook Pro 2.4ghz 4gb 250HDD

I didn't want to jump into the Mac platform just because so i waited and waited. I'm very familiar with windows so moving to another platform was not hard.
I ran into a problem last night:eek:
I was browsing the internet and my computer just froze. It wasn't porn:p
I was actually here on calguns when I noticed that the cursor would not move anymore. At first, I thought it was just trying to finish processing something but then i noticed that nothing would work. i tried pressing buttons on the keyboard and NOTHING would happen. Finally I just held the power button and restarted. Other than this, everything else has been fine so far.

I'm not use to the dock just yet, I don't like that i can't minimize thing by clicking on the icon below and why isn't there an easy way to maximize screens????? I click on the green button on top left and it doesn't fill up the screen.

The system preferences seem very basic, not many options to confuse people. Is there an advance settings page???? or a diagnostics page or something similar as there is in windows????

Barring any oddball programs installed, he mouse freezing will probably not happen again or VERY rarely. I've found that new Macs will act a little funny at first and then be fine.

Some freezing issues can be solved by using the key command: command+option+esc. This opens a window that allows you to close programs that aren't responding and avoids having to turn the computer off.

Don't quite understand the minimize/ maximize comment. You can minimize a window by clicking the orange "-" sign next to the green. Clicking the green maximize button should do two things: First click should expand the window to the edges of your screen. Clicking it again should put it back to where it was. You can also resize the window manually which should set your default for that window.

The dock can be set to "hide" by control clicking the dock and choosing "Turn Hiding On". This will make it slide down out of the screen.

The preferences are very simple because it's a Mac. Don't worry about a diagnostic page. You typically won't need it... it's Mac afterall. ;)

Blackhawk556
06-02-2010, 9:57 AM
ok actually the Mac freezing is a huge problem. Ok, Apple hasn't officially acknowledged it but there is a 30 page thread with over 400 replies on their website. Many people are experiencing the same problem, especially with the i5/i7 cores. i have the Core2duo 2010 model but my system still froze.

the green + sign doesn't maximize the screen to the edges, that is very annoying. Sometimes it expands it very little and that's it. Is there an easy way to minimize all the screens at once??

I do hope Apple fixes the freezing problem, I'm still within my 14 days and i will try to get my system to freeze again so that i can take it back and get a new one. Yes it's a Mac, but they still have problems.

check this thread out people
http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?threadID=2420192&start=300&tstart=0

Casual_Shooter
06-02-2010, 10:14 AM
Crazy thread. Glad I don't own an i5/i7 MBP.

I don't know of a command to minimize all the windows although F11 key (expose) will move your windows out of the way to expose your desktop.

Reductio
06-02-2010, 11:21 AM
If you really want to maximise windows and the like efficiently, download Better Touch Tool here (http://blog.boastr.net/?page_id=1722). Just set up a global gesture (for me it's a four-finger click) to "Maximise Window" and you're done. You can also use it to "maximise window left" or right, so it takes up exactly 1/2 your screen to the L/R. Best third-party software I've installed yet.

DuneShoot
06-02-2010, 11:55 AM
Welcome to Mac's!

Blackhawk556
06-02-2010, 12:33 PM
Crazy thread. Glad I don't own an i5/i7 MBP.

I don't know of a command to minimize all the windows although F11 key (expose) will move your windows out of the way to expose your desktop.

yeah the problem seems more common on the i5/i7 computers. If anyone is thinking about buying one of these i would wait, seriously. I bought the 13" macbook pro core2duo but my system still froze

here is a summary of the problem
Here's a quick recap of everything about this issue:
1. It's a hard freeze of the graphics and some services. Everything will stop and the mouse will continue to work for a few seconds before stopping too.
2. Things like Skype and iTunes will continue to work, as you can still hear the sound/music.
3. No current Apple Updates affect it (either for better or worse).
4. It may or may not unfreeze after 10-15minutes of waiting.
5. It affects 15" and 17" MacBook Pro, with some (fewer) reported issues of 13" MacBook Pro's doing it.
6. It happens in both Mac OS X and Windows 7
7. Hard Drives don't affect it at all. It happens with both SSDs, 5400rpm drives and 7200rpm drives.
8. There are no entries in the System Log file.
9. The machine is generally not under load at the time of the crash.
10. Getting it replaced by Apple won't fix it, the replacement machine will still have the issue.
11. If you unplug the Display port and plug it back in, you will get multicoloured static on the external screen.
12. The temperature of the machine doesn't seem to matter. Low CPU Usage and low temps don't affect it.
13. Being on battery power doesn't affect it. Some people report it only when on Battery Power. All of mine have happened when not on battery power.
14. Apple Hardware Test shows nothing out of the ordinary.
15. Using the Data Transfer to get data from an older machine doesn't affect it.
16. It seems to mainly affect the Core i7 MacBook Pros, however there are a few cases of the i5's doing it too (and through the 1-2 reported 13" ones, the C2D chipsets too).

Blackhawk556
06-02-2010, 12:35 PM
Welcome to Mac's!

if the problem gets worse, i'm going to have to return it or something. Some people have gone back to apple to get replacements and they still experience the problem

DuneShoot
06-02-2010, 12:40 PM
Sorry to hear these issues. We have old MPB's and have had no real issues.

masameet
06-02-2010, 1:16 PM
To minimize, clicking the Apple logo + "M" buttons works for me.

Hope you get the freezing issue fixed.

Casual_Shooter
06-02-2010, 1:31 PM
To minimize, clicking the Apple logo + "M" buttons works for me.

Hope you get the freezing issue fixed.

That only works for one window. I think the OP is trying to minimize all windows at one time.

Blackhawk556
06-02-2010, 2:27 PM
That only works for one window. I think the OP is trying to minimize all windows at one time.

i hadn't tried expose that much but i think this will work fine:D


..............................................
the freezing isn't bad. It only froze one time, i hope it doesn't get worse

Fate
06-02-2010, 3:47 PM
To minimize all windows at once, hold down the option key and double click the window header of one window. Presto. You can also use Option key and yellow dot to minimize all. Option expand (green dot) puts all windows to full screen. Option close (red dot) closes all windows too.

Casual_Shooter
06-02-2010, 4:01 PM
To minimize all windows at once, hold down the option key and double click the window header of one window. Presto.

This doesn't work on the machine I'm on here at my office (only one minimizes). Likewise, comm+option+m is supposed to minimize all windows, but not on my machine.

iMac G5, 2.1ghz PPC, 10.5.8

Additionally, the above mentioned tips only work within an application. I think the OP wants to minimize ALL windows.

JDay
06-02-2010, 4:08 PM
http://www.straferight.com/photopost/data/500/motivational-poster-mac-users-market.jpg

http://www.mactard.co.uk/iblog//iblogimages//2009/04/2877534687_d0b260417e_o.jpg

http://www.koshal.org/wp-content/uploads/2009/01/macpcom5.jpg

http://media.ebaumsworld.com/picture/failerb/motivator4914142.jpg

JDay
06-02-2010, 4:09 PM
yeah the problem seems more common on the i5/i7 computers. If anyone is thinking about buying one of these i would wait, seriously. I bought the 13" macbook pro core2duo but my system still froze

Sounds like its overheating.

ocabj
06-02-2010, 4:12 PM
I started another thread earlier and asked about partitions and windows 7 product keys. Several of you suggested I try VMware fusion so I'm doing that now as i write this. I wanted windows on my Mac because I got a free copy of windows 7 and office 2007 directly from MS. i've tried using office for Mac but I'm not use to it (and i don't want to buy it:D)

Ok so VMware installed windows 7 in about 30min. I was writing my review above when it finished so i'm not sure how long it took but 30min is about right. My Macbook is obviously running a little slower. the cursor doesn't move as fast but it is good most of the time. VMware is offering a 12 month complementary virus protection from Mcaffe virusscan plus but I think i'm going to pass on that bloat stuff.

aero seems to be turned off, gotta find a way to turn it on.

i'll be back

FYI. Office for Mac sucks with Spaces. It never stays jailed to the virtual desktop you specify for the given Office application. I use Office sparingly, though, and my investment is low (free; campus site license, no keys required).

As far as VMWare vs Parallels. I've been using Parallels since we get it for a low price ($20 per key). I tried earlier iterations of VMWare Fusion and it was pretty decent. If you haven't tried VirtualBox, it's free: http://www.virtualbox.org/

It's an Oracle (was Sun, but Oracle bought Sun) project. It's actually fairly decent. But the 3D support (OpenGL or Direct3D) isn't anywhere as good as in the commercial virtual machine applications (VMWare and Parallels).

Blackhawk556
06-02-2010, 10:21 PM
FYI. Office for Mac sucks with Spaces. It never stays jailed to the virtual desktop you specify for the given Office application. I use Office sparingly, though, and my investment is low (free; campus site license, no keys required).

As far as VMWare vs Parallels. I've been using Parallels since we get it for a low price ($20 per key). I tried earlier iterations of VMWare Fusion and it was pretty decent. If you haven't tried VirtualBox, it's free: http://www.virtualbox.org/

It's an Oracle (was Sun, but Oracle bought Sun) project. It's actually fairly decent. But the 3D support (OpenGL or Direct3D) isn't anywhere as good as in the commercial virtual machine applications (VMWare and Parallels).

well I installed vmware and everything seems to be running fine. I got the 30 trial to see how it works out for me, hopefully everything goes fine.

masameet
06-02-2010, 11:38 PM
OK. I figured out how to minimize all open windows.

You know the "FN/fn" button on the far left bottom of the keyboard? I never noticed it really. But apparently it is the Function button (I'm guessing on its meaning). Hold that button down as you press the F11 button. And presto! The windows fly off the screen. To restore, press the same buttons again.

For more shortcuts, go to System Preferences/Keyboard Shortcuts. (My favorite is Shift + Command/Apple logo + 4 = size it, then release.)

DuneShoot
06-02-2010, 11:42 PM
That does the same thing as 'Expose' or moving the mouse cursor to the upper left corner of the screen.

System Preferences/Expose & Spaces, click on Expose and set Desktop for upper left.
Set the other corners for what you want.

masameet
06-02-2010, 11:48 PM
It's still a shortcut with the keyboard. And yup, it's under the Expose & Spaces rubric.

casualshooter overlooked adding the fn button.

Fate
06-03-2010, 12:06 AM
This doesn't work on the machine I'm on here at my office (only one minimizes). Likewise, comm+option+m is supposed to minimize all windows, but not on my machine.

iMac G5, 2.1ghz PPC, 10.5.8

Additionally, the above mentioned tips only work within an application. I think the OP wants to minimize ALL windows.

Ah...I'm still back at 10.4.11 ;) It works there (application or just folder windows). I never was one to adopt the latest/greatest until it was pretty well debugged by other suckers.

CSDGuy
06-03-2010, 12:15 AM
Since Macs do run a flavor of Linux, you can take some advantage of programs written for Linux/Unix machines. That does, however, require some willingness to learn some Linux and do some work at the command line, not the GUI. Personally, I like macs, but Win7 is not too bad to deal with.

ocabj
06-03-2010, 8:25 AM
Mac OS X isn't Linux based. It's BSD based. Significant difference.

Casual_Shooter
06-03-2010, 8:28 AM
It's still a shortcut with the keyboard. And yup, it's under the Expose & Spaces rubric.

casualshooter overlooked adding the fn button.

Mine works without pressing the fn button. ;)

ETA- It works that way on my iMac at work. I will have to try it on my MBP at home to see if it defaults to F11 only.

Also, on my MBP, you can use 4 fingers/ slide (I think- I'll have to test it when I get home) on the touch pad to accomplish the same thing.

Casual_Shooter
06-03-2010, 8:29 AM
For more shortcuts, go to System Preferences/Keyboard Shortcuts. (My favorite is Shift + Command/Apple logo + 4 = size it, then release.)

Taking a picture of a selected area of the screen... I use it quite a bit too!

JDay
06-03-2010, 3:04 PM
Mac OS X isn't Linux based. It's BSD based. Significant difference.

Wrong, its based on the Mach kernel.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mac_OS_X#History

Mac OS X is based upon the Mach kernel.[11] Certain parts from FreeBSD's and NetBSD's implementation of Unix were incorporated in Nextstep, the core of Mac OS X. Nextstep was the object-oriented operating system developed by Steve Jobs' company NeXT after he left Apple in 1985.[12] While Jobs was away from Apple, Apple tried to create a "next-generation" OS through the Taligent, Copland and Gershwin projects, with little success.

Casual_Shooter
06-04-2010, 1:27 PM
As an update for the OP,

As Masameet posted above, on the MBP, you have to press the fn button to activate the function button F11 (which is normally the volume down button).

I confirmed on my MBP at home that using 4 fingers on the touchpad and sliding up activates Expose's "desktop" function. Sliding them different directions will active either "applications" or "show all windows".

ocabj
06-04-2010, 1:48 PM
Wrong, its based on the Mach kernel.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mac_OS_X#History

I'm not going into semantics, but OS X is a BSD based Unix OS.

Saying that OS X is originally was related on the Mach kernel is true, but that doesn't make the statement that OS X is a BSD based Unix OS untrue.

If we want to start citing Wikipedia as an authoritative reference, then I toss this out there:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Berkeley_Software_Distribution

Also Darwin, the system on which Apple's Mac OS X is built, is a derivative of 4.4BSD-Lite2 and FreeBSD.

And from the Mac OS X wiki page you posted:

It (OS 10.5) was also the first BSD-based OS to receive UNIX 03 certification.

At this point, I'd rather not start comparing and debating kernel concepts, memory management, system modes / privilege theory. I drudged my way through my Operating Systems course in college once. I prefer not relive the horrible nights trying to implement a custom system scheduler working with the 2.0 Linux kernel.

JDay
06-04-2010, 2:21 PM
I'm not going into semantics, but OS X is a BSD based Unix OS.

Saying that OS X is originally was related on the Mach kernel is true, but that doesn't make the statement that OS X is a BSD based Unix OS untrue.

If we want to start citing Wikipedia as an authoritative reference, then I toss this out there:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Berkeley_Software_Distribution



And from the Mac OS X wiki page you posted:



At this point, I'd rather not start comparing and debating kernel concepts, memory management, system modes / privilege theory. I drudged my way through my Operating Systems course in college once. I prefer not relive the horrible nights trying to implement a custom system scheduler working with the 2.0 Linux kernel.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Darwin_%28operating_system%29#History

Darwin is built around XNU, a hybrid kernel that combines the Mach 3 microkernel, various elements of BSD (including the process model, network stack, and virtual file system),[5] and an object-oriented device driver API called I/O Kit.[6]

Even versions of Windows have the BSD network stack, that doesn't make Windows based on BSD.

davhed
06-04-2010, 6:05 PM
You're both right.

http://support.apple.com/kb/TA25633?viewlocale=en_US

V8toytruck
06-05-2010, 5:27 PM
Taking a picture of a selected area of the screen... I use it quite a bit too!


This is the number function I miss when I get to my PC at home. Seriously why does it take so many keystrokes to do the same thing on a PC? Yes I know you can copy and paste an active window, but you still have to paste it, and save it.

Copy & Paste, and Photoshop Shortcuts are also a bit confusing with the daily switch.

You should drain down your battery at least 1x a month, let it rest, then have it fully charge. My 2.3 C2D MBP battery lasted approx 20 full cycles before it needed replacing. It was sitting on AC power 99.9% of the time so the battery never got cycled.

There is a link on the Apple site about their battery maintenance as well as a link to update your iCal so you can be reminded.

Acaron76
06-05-2010, 5:40 PM
macs are awesome, I've owned both and I seriously doubt I'll ever go back to windows for a home computer/laptop

JDay
06-06-2010, 2:35 AM
This is the number function I miss when I get to my PC at home. Seriously why does it take so many keystrokes to do the same thing on a PC? Yes I know you can copy and paste an active window, but you still have to paste it, and save it.

Copy & Paste, and Photoshop Shortcuts are also a bit confusing with the daily switch.

Use the "Snipping Tool" on Vista and 7, works exactly the same.

You should drain down your battery at least 1x a month, let it rest, then have it fully charge. My 2.3 C2D MBP battery lasted approx 20 full cycles before it needed replacing. It was sitting on AC power 99.9% of the time so the battery never got cycled.

The more times you charge a lithium ion battery the faster it loses charge capacity, doing charge cycles is only good for NiCad batteries. This is why you don't see the battery calibration tool in laptop BIOS' anymore.

V8toytruck
06-06-2010, 11:14 AM
Use the "Snipping Tool" on Vista and 7, works exactly the same.

Thanks...this is a much better alternative.



The more times you charge a lithium ion battery the faster it loses charge capacity, doing charge cycles is only good for NiCad batteries. This is why you don't see the battery calibration tool in laptop BIOS' anymore.

From Apple's site

You should perform this procedure when you first use your computer and then every few months after that. If you normally leave your Apple portable computer connected to AC power and very rarely use it on battery power you may want to perform this process once a month

http://support.apple.com/kb/ht1490

I understand about the Ni-Cad and battery conditioning, but even my lithium polymer batteries must be discharged to 50% for long term storage if they aren't used.

JDay
06-06-2010, 12:20 PM
From Apple's site

You should perform this procedure when you first use your computer and then every few months after that. If you normally leave your Apple portable computer connected to AC power and very rarely use it on battery power you may want to perform this process once a month

http://support.apple.com/kb/ht1490

I understand about the Ni-Cad and battery conditioning, but even my lithium polymer batteries must be discharged to 50% for long term storage if they aren't used.

It says "If you normally leave your Apple portable computer connected to AC power and very rarely use it on battery power you may want to perform this process once a month.", the key word being "may". There's also a link on that page that takes your to a battery page that goes on to say what I said.

http://www.apple.com/batteries/

Each time you complete a charge cycle, it diminishes battery capacity slightly, but you can put notebook, iPod, and iPhone batteries through many charge cycles before they will only hold 80% of original battery capacity.

If you keep it on AC power all the time just make sure the notebook isn't getting hot, heat will kill your battery long before not discharging it will.

locosway
06-06-2010, 9:33 PM
Dump Safari and get a real browser.

I really liked the two Macbooks we had until they died after 2 years. Now I just buy Dells and throw Linux on them, half the cost, same performance.