PDA

View Full Version : ATV's and Guns

11Z50
03-18-2006, 10:03 PM
I've purchased a couple ATV's and I'm interested in mixing them with shooting/hunting trips. Anybody have any tips on the locations where this is cool in the Central PRK area?

spaceburger
03-19-2006, 11:15 AM
PRK...I like that. We go up highway 88 past Silverlake. Is that too far away? We just bought a Hondat TRX500. What kind of racks have you thought of using?

11Z50
03-19-2006, 9:45 PM
I'm very new to the ATV thing. I bought a 350 and a 125 Yamaha quad and we are having loads of fun just cruising our property.

I'm looking at decking mine out with gun racks and gear. Ideas?

Walking Fire
03-21-2006, 12:29 AM
check out this site, for riding friends,
http://groups.msn.com/ClubATVWest/_homepage.msnw?pgmarket=en-us
Also a good site to shoot is Bear river reservior.

kick Z tail out
03-21-2006, 6:36 AM
I have two 6 month old quads that I've been riding the PISS out of! :D :cool: I love them!!

I've been wanting to combine quad riding and shooting for a long time, but I wasn't sure of the legalities in CA regarding carrying weapons on a quad...

spaceburger
03-21-2006, 12:20 PM
I imagine the standard hunting rules apply: Never shoot while sitting in or on a vehicle. As far as carrying a gun on it I would again guess that as long as it is unloaded it is cool. The only bad thing about walking away from an ATV while leaving a loaded gun on it is if somebody walking past it decides they like it and the ATV..it's gone without much of an argument.

11Z50
03-21-2006, 6:40 PM
What I want to do is find a place where I can take my quad into, shoot and stay the night, and ride out without any hassles. Is there such a place?

kick Z tail out
03-21-2006, 10:22 PM
What I want to do is find a place where I can take my quad into, shoot and stay the night, and ride out without any hassles. Is there such a place?
Are you close to Hemet, or Riverside? (SoCal)