PDA

View Full Version : Fly Fishing: An Absolute Noob

Jason762
05-21-2010, 3:39 PM
Well... I'm heading up to Alaska in less than a week, and was thinking about borrowing my father's fly rod & reel and giving fly fishing a shot.

I don't know the anything about fly fishing, so I was hoping for some advice and/or sources and such.

The reel is a "System One Scientific Anglers/3M" with a line weight of 7-8-9.

The rod is a 2-piece Pflueger Summit. Also marked on the rod is "IM-6 Graphite Construction" and "SFY 85-78 8'6" (2.59M) #8 Fly Line"

That's about all I know. I'm hoping to fish for trout, but Alaska also has grayling and artic char. I'll be around Juneau, Alaska.

lewdogg21
05-21-2010, 5:33 PM
Well, I can't tell you where to go since I haven't been and aren't in tune with what's happening up there right now. Fly Fishing is harder than it looks but maybe you will take a liking to it.

novabrian
05-21-2010, 6:14 PM
Just watch "A River Runs Through It".

olhunter
05-21-2010, 6:14 PM
You just whip it back and forth and try not to get it in your eye. That's all I know.

Jak1
05-21-2010, 7:15 PM
Wear a hat to protect the back of your head and ears from the hooks.:D

ScottB
05-21-2010, 8:23 PM
Take a spinner.

Take the fly gear too and learn how to use it. Its a nice way to fish once you get the hang of it. There 's lots of "how to" books. A video or two is even better for the actual casting/mending part. Grab one or two of each and figure out what you have, what its good for and how to use it - and have fun.

When it stops being fun, break out the spinner, catch dinner or whatever your after and don't apologise to anyone. FF snobs can ruin your day if you let them.

I always buy my flies and incidental tackle locally and have a nice chat with the proprietor. Those guys know whats working and where the bite is. Plus, they are glad for your business.

Fireguy
05-21-2010, 11:50 PM