PDA

View Full Version : did I damage my AR?

masayuki
05-18-2010, 4:25 PM
I just finished my first build a few weeks ago. So far I have only put about 200 rounds through it, and I have cleaned it a total of three times (once before 1st shooting, once after 1st shooting, once after 2nd shooting). Up to this point I have unknowingly cleaned the barrel improperly (against the travel of the bullet). After the first time shooting it, I used a good deal of force to get the cleaning rod down the barrel. I then noticed on my 2nd outing to the range, that my shots were off slightly. Could I have already damaged my muzzle crown? Could this be why my shots are off? When I look at the barrel, I can see what might be a few scratches outside of the bore, but they do not seem to be very significant. I am very new to this and I appreciate any knowledge/advice you can give.

Bug Splat
05-18-2010, 4:28 PM
I doubt you did any damage with only a few cleaning but yeah no more cleaning from the front. Take care of the crown ;)

Mail Clerk
05-18-2010, 4:51 PM
I just finished my first build a few weeks ago. So far I have only put about 200 rounds through it, and I have cleaned it a total of three times (once before 1st shooting, once after 1st shooting, once after 2nd shooting). Up to this point I have unknowingly cleaned the barrel improperly (against the travel of the bullet). After the first time shooting it, I used a good deal of force to get the cleaning rod down the barrel. I then noticed on my 2nd outing to the range, that my shots were off slightly. Could I have already damaged my muzzle crown? Could this be why my shots are off? When I look at the barrel, I can see what might be a few scratches outside of the bore, but they do not seem to be very significant. I am very new to this and I appreciate any knowledge/advice you can give.

masayuki,