PDA

View Full Version : DROS Delay by DOJ - Looking for advice

Seahawk
05-12-2010, 8:40 AM
Ok, so 14 years ago, I suffered a lapse of good jugement and incurred a misdemeanor battery charge under CA 242PC. Sparing the details, I paid my pound of flesh to society and got on with my life. Never, have I previously before or after had any blemish on record. I am a college educated professional and have given many years of public service to the community. I am now self-employed.

Last year, I went back to court and had my record expunged and the judge stated my firearms ownership rights were restored. (I was never previously advised by the court they were revoked).

14 years later I decide to purchase a 1911 .45. I went to pick it up yesterday after the 10 day wait, and the FFL informed me the DOJ placed a hold on the paperwork. I called DOJ and they stated they have requested the court docs to determine ownership eligibility.

FFL states that if denied, I will have to surrender all firearms owned by me. Does that include wifey's? Is this for real?

Q: What are my chances with DOJ and should I prepare for the worst?

Capt_Communist
05-12-2010, 10:02 AM
FFL informed me the DOJ placed a hold on the paperwork. I called DOJ and they stated they have requested the court docs to determine ownership eligibility.

I have had this situation happen (different circumstances and charge, but same process), and it's pretty simple... well kinda. The DOJ will request the docs and if the conviction has been expunged and they granted your rights to have firearms you are golden. This may take a while, but depending on the DOJ person and the courts it shouldn't take too long. ((mine took like a week or two I wana say))

FFL states that if denied, I will have to surrender all firearms owned by me. Does that include wifey's? Is this for real?