PDA

View Full Version : A gun in a locked container in a backpack?

CaptHobbes
05-08-2010, 10:14 AM
So I've been rereading How to Own a Gun and Stay out of Jail, and p. 64 got me thinking about this. Suppose a person locks a handgun in a container, but then for convenience puts the container in a backpack with the rest of his range stuff and carries the backpack to his car to go to a range. Is this: a) OK because the gun is still locked in a container; b) not OK because the gun is carried on a person? (a) sounds reasonable to me but I'm no lawyer.

GrizzlyGuy
05-08-2010, 10:32 AM
This:

a) OK because the gun is still locked in a container

Once in a locked container, it doesn't matter where you place that container in your vehicle. The 12025 exemption that this is based on is 12026.1 (http://law.onecle.com/california/penal/12026.1.html). Note that many people recommend that you do not place that locked container in the glove box or utility compartment. It is still legal to do so, but a LEO might get confused and think it isn't legal (leading to unwanted drama).

More info in the wiki: Transporting (http://wiki.calgunsfoundation.org/index.php/Transporting)

SigSoldier
05-08-2010, 10:33 AM
If the gun is unloaded and locked in a container you should have no problems. Besides why would the police be searching your backpack and they would need a warrant to unlock and search the container unless you give them consent.

littlejake
05-08-2010, 11:07 AM
Let's extend this scenario. Suppose the same locked container and backpack. Now, add to it, the person wants to ride the Metro light rail in the greater Los Angeles area.

Can he do it?

GrizzlyGuy
05-08-2010, 11:19 AM
Let's extend this scenario. Suppose the same locked container and backpack. Now, add to it, the person wants to ride the Metro light rail in the greater Los Angeles area.

Can he do it?