PDA

View Full Version : OB Rothery, Hoffman v. Blanas et al: Well Done!

advocatusdiaboli
05-07-2010, 5:07 PM
I read the Appellants Opening Brief and it really lays out the corruption, cronyism, and favoritism regarding CCW permits in Sacramento County. Thank you all for doing this. I hope the right judges are on the review. Fingers crossed.

anthonyca
05-07-2010, 5:33 PM
Do you have more info on this?

OleCuss
05-07-2010, 5:38 PM
Here's a link to a thread in which there are links and some discussion. http://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/showthread.php?t=298266

I'm more bemused than impressed. Opening Brief seems to be citing McDonald before the decision is handed down?

It all seems a bit unfocused as well - but I'm not a lawyer by any stretch of the imagination.

Net effect is that it appears an idiot filed the brief/case but it probably won't hurt much of anything. I could be wrong, but that's the best I've been able to gather.

Havoc70
05-07-2010, 5:45 PM
Those Briefs were filed by Gorski, of course they look like they were filed by an idiot...because they were.

Mstrty
05-07-2010, 5:46 PM
Here (http://www.hoffmang.com/firearms/gorski/gorski2amended.pdf)

CSDGuy
05-07-2010, 5:56 PM
Yes, he's citing McDonald v. Chicago as controlling precedent before it's been decided. Notice that there (very conspicuously) are no actual citations of any McDonald decision text... as he doesn't have that text (kind of hard to when it's not been officially decided yet...) All he can actually cite is the Heller decision, the tenets of which haven't been extended to the states...

Apparently, he could be getting himself in a bit of trouble for that.

This is an appeal of the spectacularly bad whomping he got from the previous decision in this case, at basically the trial level.

Yeah, he's a brilliant one...

advocatusdiaboli
05-07-2010, 6:04 PM