PDA

View Full Version : No "evil" features even after non-listed receiver is listed?

Apeman88
03-05-2006, 2:26 AM
found this article (attached) from DOJ and it states they are aware of all the non-list receivers coming into CA and are planning to update the list very soon. Also stated is that even after non-listed receivers makes it on the list and after the owner registered it as an AW, it is still illegal to have any of the "evil" features listed on the PC section 12276.1. This is different than what I've been reading on a few threads on this issue and other forums. Even the FAQ on this forum (Paragraph 11) states once a weapon is declared as an AW... owner can add detachable magazine and more. What's up with this??

I'm new to building AR. Anyone know more about this?

The letter was found at http://ag.ca.gov/firearms/forms/pdf/ar15notice.pdf

Apeman88

xenophobe
03-05-2006, 2:51 AM
Welcome to Calguns...

Ummm... Sorry if this is a little harsh, but first check this (http://www.albinoblacksheep.com/flash/posting.php).

Second... Read the FAQ again. It's at the top right, in red. The important part I'll provide for you here:

11. If my off-list receivers are declared as assault weapons, can I add “evil features” like pistol grips and folding stocks?

As of now, you should only have the intent of purchasing off-list lower receivers for the intended goal of making and using a legally-configured rifle. Any future declaration actions by DOJ are speculative; you prudently should ask for a “letter ruling” from DOJ (or see one on DOJ letterhead from someone you trust) on modifying your newly-registered lower receiver with any one or more characteristic features with a detachable magazine – and only after you receive your assault weapons registration for the particular firearm(s) in question back from the DOJ.

Read the STICKY thread entitled "Read This. Important. Off-list Ar/ak-related Updates..." (http://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/showthread.php?t=25788).