PDA

View Full Version : commentary from a student

slobson
04-27-2010, 8:44 PM
full disclosure: I'm a final year student at a top private school in southern california, getting my BS in business.

In the first evening of a new course this evening, I had my instructor declare to the class "I DON'T SUPPORT THE SECOND AMENDMENT, BUT I DON'T WANT TO DISCUSS IT IN THIS CLASS."

the course title, as stated on the syllabus, is Financial Management.

Upon my stern vociferous opposition to him interjecting his opinion and then forbidding any discussion of the subject, he told me not to tell him what to do. I've dealt with plenty of awful anti-American profs in the past, but this was over the top. to disagree is his right; but to try and stifle an opposing opinion so blatantly? infuriating. this is not meant to sound like a pity party, I am very blessed to have the opportunity to get my education.
/rant

Big Jake
04-27-2010, 8:47 PM
It sounds like 2a has no purpose in a finance class anyway so let it go and get through the class. Why he would bring it up since no one talked about it is strange anyway!

ned946
04-27-2010, 8:47 PM
Name of school.
Name of professor.

Phone numbers would be helpful.

You can post this, its all covered under the the amendment that the second amendment protects. He needs to be reminded.

dwh100
04-27-2010, 8:49 PM
BS stands for having to put up with Bull Sh_t!
Suck it up, get your grade, and then lambaste him.

ned946
04-27-2010, 8:50 PM
It sounds like 2a has no purpose in a finance class anyway so let it go and get through the class. Why he would bring it up since no one talked about it is strange anyway!

Wow.
Since when is it ok to perpetuate ignorance in an institution of higher learning? Its not as if the 2nd amendment is the students opinion. It is an amendment to the Constitution of the United States. Time for higher learning to understand that they are NOT above our laws, IMO. :chris:

kf6tac
04-27-2010, 8:55 PM
Wow.