PDA

View Full Version : just got a virus seems nasty

freonr22
04-24-2010, 4:50 PM
Was not doing anything abnormal. Security essentials ms. Popped up w/ houston we have a problem. Darn. Says removed but still locked pc up. Started is safe mode running spybot, mbam, security essentials now. Posting from phone. Titles are. "Trojan:win32/hiloti.gen!D". And "trojandownloader:Win32/Cutwail.AY" and "PWS:Win32/Daurso.A". We will see if what I'm running will kill them. Descriptions are "executes commands from an attacker". And "captures User passwords" and "downloads other programs". Will post screen shots when/if pc survives.

freonr22
04-24-2010, 4:55 PM
Maybe it was karma from bumping old threads :(

sholling
04-24-2010, 11:01 PM
I've been a tech for 20 years or so and in the old days we'd run an AV program and it would be clean. These days so many viruses are written by such skilled programmers that you can never be sure of totally getting rid of an infection. If it were me I'd back up my data, format the drive, and reload the OS. It's one reason that I recommend people use disk imaging software to make an image of their drive as soon as they are happy with how their PC is running and store it on an external drive. That way when something like this or a drive failure happens you can just blow the image on a clean drive and you're back up and running in an hour.

freonr22
04-24-2010, 11:21 PM
Thanks! I have image at work pc never thought about at home. Will do. Spybot seemed to kill it. System restored to last week. Seems ok/good now. Older xp sp3. I just don't know where it came from. I was googling the bcm 50 upper seller in commercial sales thread right before. But I would think they could set delays on the trojans?

Cyclepath
04-25-2010, 11:07 AM
+1 on this.