PDA

View Full Version : AR Help am I missing something?

USFSff
04-24-2010, 2:04 PM
This is my first build and I am new to ar15s so I COULD be just frustrated buuuuuttttttt...I consider myself mechanically inclined having built a few muscle cars and hotrods from ground up, and Im pretty sure ....ahhhh forget it! im pissed

Isnt there supposed to be a hole here to put the detent and spring in there!!!!
crap....

The front take down pin is also super difficult to push all the way in... I cant get it all the way in unless I tap it with a hammer...tolerances are too tight...
Im using a Stag LPK

JD machine thnx alot.... IS this what $89.00 and $30 in gas to pick it up gets me??? shouldve bought it from rifle gear...

http://i247.photobucket.com/albums/gg122/ssakayeda/guns/IMG00007-20100424-1347.jpg

Josh3239
04-24-2010, 2:06 PM
The front takedown pin will eventually loosen up. Yes there should be a hole there; you can drill it yourself, return it for a new one, or contact the manufacturer if the original owner won't accept a return. Drilling the hole really wouldn't be difficult, plenty of people do that with 80% receivers. I tapped my .308 lower's hole so I can use a set screw to capture the spring and detent. Though I am sure JD will replace it no questions asked.

AlliedArmory
04-24-2010, 2:08 PM
Yes there should be a hole there.

USFSff
04-24-2010, 2:11 PM
It was bought directly from JD machine.... I live in OC and drove all the way down to pick it up... BECAUSE... I was told to buy from them at the show and they would "hook me up for the trouble and gas I would spend" Even though I could have bought from Rifle gear... When I went there they seemed busy and Didnt get anything out of it...just a was of $30 in gas...ehhhhhh!!! Left sour taste in my mouth if you ask me...

USFSff
04-24-2010, 2:34 PM