PDA

View Full Version : BLOCK IN 20 Round MAG

mac5989
02-24-2006, 12:27 PM
I bought a 10 rnd fixed mag kit but it looks like a 20 rnd mag but it has a block inside that makes it a 10 rnd mag. Can I get in some trouble if I get caught with it at a range if someone mistakes it for a 20 rnd? I bought it here in california so I'm guessing its good but some idiot out there might try and pull some,"YOU CAN'T HAVE THAT!" Just wanted to get advise from you experts cause I'm a noob on this site. And yes I read the FAQ. Thanks:D

1911_Mitch
02-24-2006, 12:33 PM
link or source or pic for mag?

this will help to answer you question.

IIRC any modification to "standard capacity mags" to make them 10 rounders must be PERMANENT

tenpercentfirearms
02-24-2006, 12:37 PM
You would hope someone would try and stick over 10 rounds in it to determine if it held over ten rounds or not. I have one of those. Looks like a standard straight 20 rounder, but it is really 10.

blacklisted
02-24-2006, 12:52 PM
link or source or pic for mag?

this will help to answer you question.

any modification to "standard capacity mags" to make them 10 rounders must be PERMANENT

I'm curious, where does it say it must be permanent?

ocabj
02-24-2006, 1:00 PM
I have some Colt 5-round magazines that are simply Colt 20-round magazines with something in side to prevent more than 5 rounds from being loaded. The floor plates are riveted. These were magazines that Colt sold with their 'Sporter' model of rifles.

1911_Mitch
02-24-2006, 1:01 PM

PC 12276.1 (d)(2):

"Capacity to accept more than 10 rounds" shall mean capable of accommodating more than 10 rounds, but shall not be construed to include a feeding device that has been permanently altered so that it cannot accommodate more than 10 rounds.

fun2none
02-24-2006, 1:08 PM