PDA

View Full Version : Former NV Resident, Now CA Resident with NV Registered Guns>>>

dj_dub
04-20-2010, 9:37 AM
Hi Everyone! I'm new to this site and tried using the Search Feature but could not find a definite answer after searching for the past 2 hours...any help is much appreciated! ;)

I'm a former Nevada resident and now recently a California resident. I legally bought and registered my 3 handguns and 1 shotgun in Nevada and will be bringing them in the state shortly. What exactly do I need to do to register all my guns legally in California? Forms or Fees? Anything different in the process between my handguns and my shotgun? Any info and references is much appreciated!

Thanks for your help!

SuperSet
04-20-2010, 9:41 AM
You'll have to register the handguns but not the shotgun. These types of questions can be answered using the Calguns Wiki and here's the link for the firearms registration:

http://wiki.calgunsfoundation.org/index.php/Firearms_registration

Welcome to the forum.

whitey
04-20-2010, 9:44 AM
Why would you do this. It is usually the other way around

dj_dub
04-20-2010, 9:52 AM
You'll have to register the handguns but not the shotgun. These types of questions can be answered using the Calguns Wiki and here's the link for the firearms registration:

http://wiki.calgunsfoundation.org/index.php/Firearms_registration

Welcome to the forum.

That's perfect! Thanks for your help!

So I don't have to do anything with the shotgun...I can bring it in legally with no forms or fees?

Why would you do this. It is usually the other way around

haha true...but I moved to CA for a better paying job and my wife's family as well as mine is out here. ;)

Sinixstar
04-20-2010, 10:17 AM
Long guns do not have to be reported or registered (yet). Just do yourself a favor and go over the "assault weapons" checklist. make sure you don't have anything that could be confused for an evil black rifle.