PDA

View Full Version : Temporary Move to Bay Area

Picchioni
04-04-2010, 11:53 PM
Hello All,
I've been a reader/lurker of these forums for the last 6 months or so gaining a wealth of information (to which I appreciate), and have a couple of questions. I'm currently an Arizona resident, and will be moving up to SJ for 3 months for work.

I will not be filing for California residency because I'm only be living there for 3 months. Do any laws change if I'm there with my firearms considering I won't be a California resident? I'll of course have an apartment and be paying for California utilities if that matters.

I'll be taking my Beretta Px4 .40 up with me, I'll be picking up a 10rd mag and leaving my 14's at home. Will I need to register my pistol with the DOJ considering how long I'll be staying there? Is this even possible considering I won't be a resident?

Anything special I need to be aware for in terms of bringing my ammo with me?

I'm considering taking my PSL that I'll be purchasing at the end of the month. I'll be fitting it with a bullet button to ensure it's legal. When transporting it, does it fall under the clause

Nonconcealable firearms (rifles and shotguns) are not generally covered within the provisions of California Penal Code section 12025 and therefore are not required to be transported in a locked container. However, as with any firearm, nonconcealable firearms must be unloaded while they are being transported. A rifle or shotgun that is defined as an assault weapon pursuant to Penal Code 12276 or 12276.1 must be transported in accordance with Penal Code section 12026.1. or do I still need to transport it in a locked case? Do I also need to keep an empty magazine attached to the riffle to keep it legal? Or can I transport it without an empty magazine attached?