PDA

View Full Version : C&R SKS

BestGuess
04-03-2010, 12:52 PM
Hello All,
I'm a newbie to the site. I have purchased three bolt action rifles using my C & R. All were a good experience. I am now looking into buying an SKS for plinking. Not exactly sure about the CA rules on a C & R SKS? Seems like grenade launchers,flash supressors,detachable mags are a no-no. Could you guys set me straight on what is a go vs no go on having one shipped to me from out of state?

Thanks for all your help,

CR

TRICKSTER
04-03-2010, 1:00 PM
Russian are all OK. Romanian built 1959 or earlier are also OK. These are 50+ years old and don't have "evil" features.

hifiguns
04-03-2010, 5:40 PM
The Russian SKS is an excellent SKS and fairly plentiful. They are all C&R. Generally, you can get them in better shape than the Romanian version. The refurbs with the BBQ black paint on the metal and bolt carrier and laminated stocks should be cheaper, and may be in better functional condition. Hardwood birch stocks, bluing on the metal and unblued bolt carrier/bolt with all matching numbers are the most desireable and collectable. You might get lucky with a "Buy It Now" on the auction sites. http://www.flickr.com/photos/follow-the-edge/2874800237/sizes/o/

Forgot to mention the Yugo SKS M59 which is C&R, CA legal and very hard to find.

mls343
04-03-2010, 8:29 PM
+ 1 on the Russian. I have one and she is sweet. You will not be disappointed.

paul0660
04-03-2010, 8:37 PM
Forgot to mention the Yugo SKS M59 which is C&R, CA legal and very hard to find.

AFAIK, it is impossible to date M59's, and I have heard that none were actually manufactured until the 60's, so they are not a rock solid 50 years old.

SanPedroShooter
04-03-2010, 8:38 PM
What about yugos with grenade launchers etc.. I've seen quite a few for sale here on CGN, so i assume its good to go. Am i wrong. can they be ordered on my c&r from out of state, grenade launcher and all??

TRICKSTER
04-03-2010, 9:00 PM