PDA

View Full Version : garand tanker question

badfish71
04-03-2010, 12:01 AM
I dont remember where i heard it but... is it true a tanker garand is not eligable for cash and carry?? im not very familiar with garands and im just starting to learn. Thank you.

hunteran
04-03-2010, 12:41 AM
The Tanker Garands are modified Garands (the actual Tanker Garands made by the military never got past the experimental stage, they're exceedingly rare). If I recall correctly in order for something to be cash and carry it has to be in its original condition.

badfish71
04-03-2010, 12:59 AM
thats what i was afraid of. i have one i want to sell but im sure most people dont wanna go through the dros hassle. anyone know what they roughly sell for?

microwaveguy
04-03-2010, 8:59 AM
Well one of the companies that build them is asking $1245.00

Article here : http://www.tactical-life.com/online/exclusives/mini-g-conversion-30-06/?hp=exclusives_title

And Mfg here : http://www.shuffsparkerizing.com/Conversion_Tanker_Sniper.php

I am certain it needs a DROS since it has been modified

smle-man
04-03-2010, 12:18 PM
Tanker Garands generally haven't been successful and have functioning problems. I had one and spent a couple years trying to get it to work reliably. Stay away from them.

TRICKSTER
04-03-2010, 12:51 PM
I think it depends on the receiver. Fulton Armory is still selling them to 03 FFLs.
Tim Schuff makes the Mini-G. You send him your garand and he modifies it.
He has overcome the functioning problems associated with the tankers.
http://www.shuffsparkerizing.com/Conversion_Tanker_Sniper.php

vf111
04-03-2010, 4:41 PM
Tanker Garands generally haven't been successful and have functioning problems. I had one and spent a couple years trying to get it to work reliably. Stay away from them.

Mine in 308 works fine - built on a 86XXX Springfield receiver w/ Tanker parts kit Numrich used to sell.

badfish71
04-03-2010, 7:27 PM