PDA

View Full Version : Security Six Import?

fenrir
03-31-2010, 9:49 PM
Hello all. I am a newb so be gentle.

So I am thinking of purchasing a Ruger Security Six .357 because they are cheap and reliable. However, I am getting a sinking feeling that I will not be able to buy one from out of state to be shipped to California.

Is this the case? Is there a chance that I can take advantage of an out of state price on gunbroker? Or am I going to be the next victim of the ridiculous restrictions of this great State?
If so, does anyone have a Sec Six they are willing to part with?

Any help is appreciated.

bwiese
03-31-2010, 10:12 PM
Ruger Security Sixes are not on the CA Roster of Approved Handguns.

You can really only acquire non-Rostered non-exempt handguns if
(1) they are inherited/are bequested;
(2) transferred to you from a (grand)parent/(grand)child via CA FFL;
(3) PPT'd face-to-face from a CA resident already owning one;
(4) consigned for sale at a CA gunshop.

There are probably some around here if you really desired to find one.

If you like the Security Six, you'll probably love its successor, the GP100.

GP100s are in current production, and many variations are indeed Rostered.

I'd suggest you check the Roster for exact models that are still on CA Roster.
There will likely be quite a few in CA gunshops either new or used.

halifax
04-01-2010, 4:07 AM
What Bill said. If you are in Northern CA, I know someone who is selling one.

stag1500
04-01-2010, 8:42 AM
Ruger Security Sixes are not on the CA Roster of Approved Handguns.

You can really only acquire non-Rostered non-exempt handguns if
(1) they are inherited/are bequested;
(2) transferred to you from a (grand)parent/(grand)child via CA FFL;
(3) PPT'd face-to-face from a CA resident already owning one;
(4) consigned for sale at a CA gunshop.

If somebody from out of state was visiting CA with one of those, could they walk into a gun store and do a PPT or would they have to move here first?