PDA

View Full Version : Duel Residency (Military)

flying2275
03-21-2010, 10:07 PM
A post on another thread got me interested in this. I didn't want to highjack that thread so I started this one I figured other military members on this site may be wondering this also.

I'm in the military stationed here in CA but I'm an Iowa resident. ( IA drivers license, vehicle registered in IA, paying IA income tax, registered to vote in IA etc etc).

I can purchase firearms here in CA with my Military ID and a copy of my military orders. In IA all I need is my drivers license. Could I go home on leave and purchace a few 1911 frames or other handguns not on the official list and bring them back here to CA and then sell them here on Calguns for the disadvantaged? Of course going threw a FFL with the person buying from me.

What would be the legalities of this?

thanks

corrupt
03-21-2010, 11:18 PM
Interesting question!

lorax3
03-21-2010, 11:38 PM
Could I go home on leave and purchace a few 1911 frames or other handguns not on the official list and bring them back here to CA and then sell them here on Calguns for the disadvantaged?
What would be the legalities of this?

Sort answer. Legally, no. Details below.

Most pistols are out. Frames/receivers may be an option depending if you consider them to meet the definition of a pistol. Frames are not specifically included to be pistols in all sections. It also brings up some straw purchase questions if you are actually buying the handgun for someone else or if you started to do this on a regular basis, etc.

Plenty of fun code to look over. :)

12125. (a) Commencing January 1, 2001, any person in this state who
manufactures or causes to be manufactured, imports into the state
for sale, keeps for sale, offers or exposes for sale, gives, or lends
any unsafe handgun shall be punished by imprisonment in a county
jail not exceeding one year.

12126. As used in this chapter, "unsafe handgun" means any pistol,