PDA

View Full Version : I need help with a Mosin

jben
03-12-2010, 6:57 PM
My Calguns search/google fu is weak tonight.

I'm thinking of buying a friends M91/30. I admit I'm new to Mosins but I've never heard of or seen one like this. It appears to be all stainless steel. Receiver, barrel, bolt, furniture clamps and bayonet. Round receiver. It has the Izhevsk mark and was imported by CAI.

Anybody know anything about a stainless Mosin? Value compared to a normal one?

Beetle Bailey
03-12-2010, 7:07 PM
Never heard of a stainless steel Mosin. Maybe it has been hardchromed? I remember there was a dealer who was hardchroming M44 Mosin Carbines. Maybe someone had a 91/30 hardchromed.

jben
03-12-2010, 7:15 PM
Never heard of a stainless steel Mosin. Maybe it has been hardchromed? I remember there was a dealer who was hardchroming M44 Mosin Carbines. Maybe someone had a 91/30 hardchromed.

Would the import marks go on before or after the chroming? They are still very sharp.

Eddie1965
03-12-2010, 7:17 PM
Is it nice and shinny? Or is it kind of a dull grey color? If it is shinny some one down the line had it chromed like the previous poster said and if it a dull grey color more than likely all the blueing has been removed. I have a Romanian contract VZ-24 like that, some one told me that they used anti-freeze on them in the Eastern front to prevent them from freezing and by doing so they removed all the finish on the metal and the stocks turned black.

jben
03-12-2010, 7:34 PM
Definitely shiny. It's not bare steel. Where we live it would be a pile of rust if there was no treatment. This thing is very clean. I'm used to chrome finishes being "shinier" than stainless but I suppose this could be chromed. I've been fooled before!

I've never seen a gun that was refinished. Would the process leave the original arsenal marks visible?

cryoguy
03-12-2010, 7:35 PM
I wouldnt mind seeing some pics

hypnoman
03-12-2010, 7:37 PM