PDA

View Full Version : Newbie, inheriting firearms, need good learning resources

skitch
03-10-2010, 12:56 AM
I am a total newbie* when it comes to firearms. My sibs and I have inherited our Dad's gun collection (handguns, rifles, air rifles). Before I decide to take possession of one or more of the firearms, I'd like to learn the information and skills to safely store, transport, shoot and maintain the firearm(s).

I live in the San Gabriel Valley; I found this site while searching for the Santa Anita Firing Range (which I just learned is, alas, no more). The guns are located 50 miles away in Orange County.

What would you recommend a brand new beginner to do?

Thanks,

skitch

*Well, okay. When I was young, Dad and uncles took me to the Arizona desert to go shooting. I didn't like it much. It was a long, long time ago. Want to give it another try. Consider me an absolute beginner.

NaughtyMonkey
03-10-2010, 1:10 AM
There is tons and tons to learn, best thing to do is use the search on here for your questions and if you don't find the answer, just post, just make sure its in the appropriate section.

P.S. Welcome to the forums.

corrupt
03-10-2010, 1:41 AM
The California Department of Justice (CA DOJ) requires you to submit a form notifying them of the transfer.

Read the Handgun Safety Certification study guide. It will tell you a lot of the basics, including laws that you should be aware of.

Contact a local gun range and ask them if there are classes geared towards the beginner.

skitch
03-10-2010, 2:19 AM
@Naughty Monkey, thanks for the welcome. A search for 'beginner' did bring up lots in many forums. Probably the most helpful, given where I am, were mentions of places to take classes.
(one possibility: Civilian Arms Training Level 1 Defensive Handgun (http://www.civilianarmstraining.com/?page_id=4) location: Chino.)