PDA

View Full Version : Proof of Residency, 4 consecutive months of utility bill?

Ultimate
03-05-2010, 6:34 PM
Hey gun gurus, I went to buy a lower today at an FFL nearby but they told me that because I was a legal Perm Resident and not yet citizen I needed to have 4 consecutive months of a land based utility bill. Also that car and motorcycle registrations don't work for me because of that. I use autopay on the cable bill so I have been tossing some lol. Now I don't have 4 consecutive ones lol.

Is that correct or did I just get choked around?

Thanks guys.

Cokebottle
03-05-2010, 6:39 PM
Find a different dealer. This one is FOS.

huck
03-05-2010, 6:52 PM
Find a knowledgeable dealer. When you are not a citizen, things get kind of weird.

I KNOW this for sure, but I can't explain the details: You need a hunting license to buy a gun.

Ducman
03-05-2010, 6:54 PM
if you are paying auto pay, you can print out your statement and those copies should work.

Hateca
03-05-2010, 6:57 PM
Read this, it will answer your guestion. This is a Federal law and has nothing to do with the state.

http://www.atf.gov/publications/newsletters/ffl/ffl-newsletter-2008-11.pdf

Cokebottle
03-05-2010, 7:05 PM
Find a knowledgeable dealer. When you are not a citizen, things get kind of weird.

I KNOW this for sure, but I can't explain the details: You need a hunting license to buy a gun.
I believe that only applies to nonimmigrant aliens (IE, foreigner vacationing in the US).

But the ATF does require three months of proof of residence.

Ultimate
03-05-2010, 7:12 PM
if you are paying auto pay, you can print out your statement and those copies should work.

LOL I tried that too they said that because Brighthouse(my cable provider) doesn't print a logo on them they couldn't accept them.

That info posted by Hateca though shows I could have used my bank statements. They didn't even suggest that lol, bastards.

thetaxman
03-05-2010, 7:16 PM
You need a hunting license to buy a gun.