PDA

View Full Version : Issue with new AR, any thoughts?

MoabFJ
03-04-2010, 9:23 AM
This is my first AR, so I am new to the EBR thing, if not shooting in general.

The rifle is a new factory built CMMG carbine, and the mags are a mix of Sabre and Magpul 10/20 mags, all plastic.

The first time I took it out to shoot at Chabot and it was perfect.
It ate several different brands of factory ammo, and was reasonably accurate, in short, everything I was looking for.

The second time I went out I started having problems. After a few shots, the magazine fell out. Then I noticed how hard it was to get the magazine to seat.

I spoke with the dealer and they have mentioned the possibility of plastic mags swelling, or having a poor fit due to the factory coating on the rifle.
I have looked at it closely, and really don't think this is the problem.

If anyone needs a specific picture to help clear things up, I will post it.
Does this sound familiar to anyone?

Thanks, any help is appreciated.

Arteel
03-04-2010, 9:26 AM
Are you trying to load a full mag in your rifle with a closed bolt?

MoabFJ
03-04-2010, 9:30 AM
Well.. yeah. In every rifle and pistol I have ever owned.

Shoot till the mag is empty, chamber clear, bolt closed.
Insert fresh mag, cycle bolt, repeat..

This is wrong?

DDRH
03-04-2010, 9:34 AM
Well.. yeah. In every rifle and pistol I have ever owned.

Shoot till the mag is empty, chamber clear, bolt closed.
Insert fresh mag, cycle bolt, repeat..

This is wrong?

nothing wrong with it...but with 10/20 and 10/30's some may not have enough room for play, and maybe a bit tough to load the mag in the magwell. in this case, the mag may fall out if you don't give it a good slap to make sure it's in.

some with 10/20 10/30 mags usually load 9 rnds if they have issues loading 10.

i have no issues with any of my PMAGs. 10/20 10/30 30's. try some regular milspec mags and see what happens.

MrNiceGuy
03-04-2010, 9:36 AM