PDA

View Full Version : Help with "Modernizing" an old AR15

problemchild
03-03-2010, 8:47 PM
I have an old Bushmaster target rifle ( I refuse to call it an assault weapon) that is registered with the Peoplez Republik of Kalifornia. I would like to bring it into the 90's with some new parts. I dont have a lot of cash. What can I do to make it look more modern? Can I put a flat top railed upper and decent cheese grader handguard for not too much coin? It also has a muzzle brake I would like to ditch. The muzzle brake has four allen set screws that are epoxied in. The end of the barrel is not threaded. The buttstock is fixed non-collapseable. Any place to buy a used UBR for the back end? And yes that is one of the grandfathered 30rd mags I bought when I purchased the rifle.

Ideas suggestions?

http://www.michaelkdickson.com/webjunk/AR15/IMG_0294a.jpg

CHS
03-03-2010, 9:02 PM
The buttstock can be swapped out for little to no cost. You'll need a new receiver extension and stock. Might as well go to a milspec one while you're swapping parts.

Check the barrel extension for M4 feed ramps. If you've got them, then swapping receivers is really easy and you can go flat top.

Not much you can do with the muzzle though. You could take it to Randall to have that thing removed and get the barrel threaded for a flash hider, but it might not be worth it.

Noobert
03-03-2010, 9:05 PM
After you swap uppers, you will probably want to get some optics for the 'modern' look, which will be expensive

Endless
03-03-2010, 10:08 PM
It looks good as is.

I would throw on a Trijicon ACOG, DD rails, taclight, GPS-02 grip bipod and a magpul shorty stock...