PDA

View Full Version : why does my compute wake from "sleep" by it self?


Blackhawk556
03-02-2010, 6:49 PM
I dont turn my computer off as much as i use to, now i put it into sleep so that i dont have to wait for bios, post,....

after several hrs though the computer will turn on for no reason, it is annoying because sometimes at night it turns on and the video card is so DAMN LOUD it wakes me up. "wake from LAN" in bios is off (it's wireless do I dont think this matters)

anyone have an idea what can be going on???

in running win 7 pro x64
I put the computer together 2 years ago so it isn't a hp,sony,acer,.....

NSR500
03-02-2010, 6:51 PM
Ghost in the shell...

Fot
03-02-2010, 6:53 PM
Porn virus activating

Joe
03-02-2010, 7:14 PM
Its becoming self-aware

rolex87
03-02-2010, 7:40 PM
the same thing happens on my mac, it just wakes up at around 3-4 in the morning sometimes

bohoki
03-02-2010, 8:03 PM
a small power spike can make a mouse think it moved

sd_shooter
03-02-2010, 8:22 PM
I agree that it's the mouse - I was able to fix it on my computer with Vista x64 but you'll have to try google it for Win7.

Fate
03-02-2010, 8:35 PM
:TFH: The .gov is activating it so they can snoop around your house. :TFH:

Doheny
03-02-2010, 8:36 PM
It's no longer tired?

rockdogz
03-02-2010, 8:41 PM
Type this in to a command shell and find out!


powercfg lastwake

Do some googling on this and you can find out all kinds of interesting info... I had to disable certain devices from waking my computer from the Device Manager.

Blackhawk556
03-02-2010, 8:45 PM
ill give it a try when i get home right now

at first i thought it was a ghost or a spirit

ChaparralCommando
03-02-2010, 9:11 PM
Sounds about as bad as my computer randomly not waking up properly from sleep mode. Just a black screen and unresponsive - have to hold power button to shut off then power back on. I thought it was associated with my failing hard drive but it still happens with the new one. Mine is possessed by the prince of darkness, yours by the prince of light.

chiefcrash
03-02-2010, 11:27 PM
Could be a Wake on Lan/call kind of thing...

look in your bios settings for wake on network card/peripheral type settings...

JDay
03-03-2010, 6:21 AM
Most likely its something causing the mouse to slightly move. Either that or another device on your network is waking it.

doughboy334
03-04-2010, 4:50 PM
ill give it a try when i get home right now

at first i thought it was a ghost or a spirit

you must be filipino lol we always blaming it on ghosts or spirits (and if you're not, jk then)

I had this same problem with an Acer laptop and Vista, very annoying especially if you are dc from AC power

trilogy
03-04-2010, 5:03 PM
Bad dreams.

jmlivingston
03-04-2010, 5:11 PM
Sounds about as bad as my computer randomly not waking up properly from sleep mode. Just a black screen and unresponsive - have to hold power button to shut off then power back on. I thought it was associated with my failing hard drive but it still happens with the new one. Mine is possessed by the prince of darkness, yours by the prince of light.

The Dell laptops we use at work (mostly D630's) are notorious for this.

ChaparralCommando
03-04-2010, 5:17 PM
The Dell laptops we use at work (mostly D630's) are notorious for this.

Mine is a Lenovo laptop, about 3 years old now.

spdrcr
03-10-2010, 1:57 PM
My laptop did this when it had a virus. It was a real PITA. Once AVG finally cleared the virus it stopped turning itself back on.

BillCA
03-10-2010, 2:25 PM
Several things could be causing this...

If the computer is in "sleep" mode or "hibernate"...
- Wake-on-Lan settings could do it, but you said this is off
- Mouse movement or power flux making it think the mouse moved.*
- Daemon/Jobtask set to run at 3am.
- Virus or other malware communicates in the wee hours
- Network device looking for hosts
- Failing battery on a USB storage device (almost drove me nuts)

If you leave your computer on at night, disable your internet connection if you aren't using a router to NAT your PC behind the router. Make sure your firewall is buttoned down pretty tight too.

Check your system's services. Some services can attempt to run at odd times when the system is idle. Unless you have a specific need for them, disable**...
- FTP Publishing
- Human Interface Device Access
- Remote Access Connection Manager
- Remote desktop Help Session Manager
- Remote Registry
- Telephony (if installed)
- Telnet
- World Wide Web Publishing



* I found 2 reasons for my mouse moving... cat stepping on the cord to get to the window and cycling of an a/c unit in summer.
** Disable these services unless you know you need them. Always disable the remote access services unless you

supertrooper
03-17-2010, 4:14 PM
insomnia

proxiedjohnny
03-25-2010, 11:20 PM
Wake on LAN would be the first setting I'd check.

Johnny

juicemansam
03-26-2010, 2:45 AM
anyone have an idea what can be going on???
sleep apnea

TWoods450
03-26-2010, 7:09 AM
are you running vista?
What OS? What is the hardware config?

Californio
03-27-2010, 9:25 AM
My iMac is plugged in to a APC UPS, my power grid sucks, if I get a power spike in the middle of the night, the UPS takes over and just that event will wake up the iMac.

jmlivingston
03-27-2010, 7:40 PM
Article on sleep/hibernate/suspend on the OCRegister website today. don't know if there's anything here that'll help, but might be worth a read.

http://gadgetress.freedomblogging.com/2010/03/27/everything-you-always-wanted-to-know-about-standby-sleep-and-hibernate/37235/

Obviously a Plant
03-27-2010, 10:44 PM
You might want to check out your fan. My Mac kept waking up for a few months before the tan bearing gave out and cooked the CPU. Regardless, back up all your data and save up for another computer, recovering data from a dead Mac is no all that easy. ..

yelohamr
03-28-2010, 9:47 AM
Some programs are scheduled to check for updates at odd early morning hours, unless you indicate a certain time.
Either that or it wakes up to go pee.

TWoods450
03-28-2010, 10:16 AM
You might want to check out your fan. My Mac kept waking up for a few months before the tan bearing gave out and cooked the CPU. Regardless, back up all your data and save up for another computer, recovering data from a dead Mac is no all that easy. ..

if your CPU died, its not too hard to pull a drive from a mac, I do it all the time, and if you need for a lot of the computers I have tear down manuals.

Richie Caketown
03-28-2010, 7:28 PM
my cpu did this for a bit too .. it turns out i had WIndows Automatic Updates running as a process , i killed it and now it never bothers me again

Blackhawk556
03-28-2010, 8:48 PM
my cpu did this for a bit too .. it turns out i had WIndows Automatic Updates running as a process , i killed it and now it never bothers me again

can you explain this alittle more?? i checked in task manager under the process tab and i don't see windows update running.

ldivinag
03-29-2010, 2:53 PM
It's no longer tired?

that would be my answer too...


:)