PDA

View Full Version : Just moved to L.A.: Greetings and Questions about declaring my handgun ownership

Angry_Lobster
03-02-2010, 3:56 PM
Hi everyone. Introductions first: I'm a prop builder and gunsmith who's just moved to Los Angeles County to start working in a large prop company. I've spent a lot of time building guns for personal use and for use in movies, and I'm here to take the next step in that career. Spent a lot of time on New England gun forum Northeastshooters.com, as well as plenty of time on Rugerforum.com and in TFR on the Something Awful Forums.

Now for my questions: as I said, I'm a gun owner who's just moved here. I plan on filling out the forms that I'm required to send to the ATF declaring my ownership of firearms this week: I'm declaring two handguns, both single action target revolvers. But I've got some questions about the process.

First, the deadline is 60 days from the time when you establish residency. What exactly entails establishing residency? Do you have to have your CA drivers license, or just have received mail in the state? I ask because I haven't been able to get a CA drivers license yet, but I've been receiving mail at a CA address for over 6 months, as I registered my car here before I actually moved here: I arrived in CA permanently just over a month ago, but I flew out here to buy a car here in September. I'm concerned that since the DMV considers receiving mail in CA as proof of Residency, that the ATF will as well, thus making me technically beyond the deadline even though I didn't actually live or have firearms in California until a month ago. Either way, I'll be getting my CA drivers license within the next week or two: I'm just waiting on a replacement birth certificate. I just want to make sure I'm not breaking the law in any way.