PDA

View Full Version : AR Mags

quig
03-01-2010, 7:52 PM
Disclaimer, I tried doing a search without success. Maybe someone recalls a previous thread and can direct.

I am somewhat new to an AR platform. I have a newly acquired Stag lower with a bushmaster upper in 556/223. I am building up a Mag collection and have run into a problem.

A 10rd mag came with the lower, works great. Then I bought 2 10/20 unmarked steel mags from a fellow calgunner. No problems with those.

However, in an attempt to get a lengthened 30, I purchased 4 10/30 mags from a sponser. They came today.

They appear to be surplus type mags that were riveted to limit the 10 rounds. The rounds are a pain in the arse to load. It is defiantly a lot tighter to fit in that the other mags I was using. 3 of the 4 mags won't even lock in with the bolt closed. With these 3, I have to keep the "bolt open" to get them in, and it is even tough like this. Also, when I hit the release, I have to rack back the bolt 1-2 times to get the round from the mag into the chamber.

I am sure this may be common. I am pretty certain it is the mag. Did I get what I paid for? Is there a way to tweak the mag?

Thank you in advance,

Ryan

Josh3239
03-01-2010, 7:58 PM
This is why I stay away from the nuetered mags, you don't know who did it, let alone how they will perform. A dedicated mag will always run better.

As far as not locking it with the bolt closed, that has to do with how low the follower can go. They were blocked a bit high, but even the free states or in the military it is recommended to download 1 or 2 rounds for best performance and to allow the loading when the bolt isn't open.

My advice is get unneutered mags.

aplinker
03-01-2010, 8:22 PM
Hi Ryan,